Altered boxes

Found these boxes at the thrift store a while back.  LOVE the writing on the sides!

The pictures on the box tops, notsomuch!  Well, it’s not that I don’t LIKE the pictures, they’re kind of folk artish and I’ll always have a bit of a soft spot for folk art.  I just didn’t like those pictures WITH the rest of the box design.  Easy enough to change that!

I just covered the existing picture with some scrap paper and added some embellishments!

Of course now the boxes won’t stack on top of each other, but I’m okay with that!

The ‘hope’, ‘dream’ and ‘happiness’ are made of chipboard and came from the craft store.  I just painted the ‘dream’ one black.

And while I had my scrap papers and embellishments out, I fixed up this apothecary jar.  It’s a nice heavy crystal jar that I found at the thrift store.  When I got it home and cleaned it, I noticed it had a logo etched on the front.  DOH!!!  That’s what I get for not putting on my reading glasses to closely inspect stuff before I buy! 

It was pretty quick and easy to remedy with some tea stained paper strips and a pretty little embossed medallion.  And I added the candlestick for a pedestal.

All of these are currently for sale in our space at Camas Antique Mall.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/altered-boxes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would like to get some pries of things pictured on your blog….can you help

    • RaeJean,

      The majority of the items shown in our blog have gone into one of our two Portland, Oregon area Antique Mall spaces tp be sold. I’m not currently set up to sell via the blog. I DO hope to start listing more items for sale on the internet via my etsy shop in the near future. But right now my hands are full keeping the two malls stocked. If you’d like to let me know what kinds of things you are looking for to purchase via the internet; that input would be very helpful for me for future reference in choosing what to sell on etsy.

      I do have custom signs available via etsy right now. And sometimes I can do ‘other things’ as custom orders. I just need to know specifically what it is you are looking for in order to give a specific response on availabitiyt and price. ONCE in a while an item I’ve shown in the blog has not gone to one of our booths yet and is still ‘sitting in wait’ here at home. So it never hurts to ask about a SPECIFIC item. But I do not, in general, post prices on the items I show. I’d be so busy with JUST THAT, that I’d never get any other work done!!

      Thanks for your comment.

      aj


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 827 other followers

