In spite of the heat . . .

.  . . and frequent tearful moments over the loss of my sweet old (17 years old!) kitty Lewis last week, I have managed to get a few things painted.    The silliest little things get me teary eyed!  Had a carton of yogurt for breakfast and the empty carton made me cry because Lewis loved to lick my yogurt cartons.  This cat was practically born in my lap 17 years ago.  His mama was a tad nervous about her first (and only) litter and insisted upon being IN MY LAP while she was in labor.  Afraid that she really WAS going to have them in my lap, I conceded to sitting on the floor beside her box, rubbing her belly until the kittens were born.  Mama kitty and sister kitten (she only had 2, so we kept them both) are long gone, but Lewis has been through thick and thin with me.    And I better change the subject now before I start crying again!!

 Got his 5 drawer chest finished.   Painted it white, sanded, foam stamped a design on the fronts of the drawers, then sanded again.

This is the foam stamp I used for the design on the drawer fronts.

Here you can see the difference between the stamped design before (top) and after I sanded the drawer fronts the second time..

I painted and reused the same knobs. Spray painted them white first.  Then sponge painted on the same tan as the design on the drawers.

Went for having knobs that ‘blend in’ this time.  As opposed to the big STAR knobs on the last chest I did.

A few ink stains in the drawers needed to be covered up.  I just used some kraft brown wrapping paper I had and LIGHTLY glued it down just along the edges.

Didn’t have enough of either paper to do all five drawers; so I alternated with the light and dark print.  (need to put wrapping paper on my shopping list!!)    ***another tip if the drawer bottoms are ‘really bad’, and you don’t want to paint them or replace them.  Get some white posterboard (2/$1.00 at Dollar Tree!) and cut them to use as drawer inserts!

The sides and top and just plain white; no design.

And while I had the white paint and sponge stamp out, I painted a little stool and coffee table to match!

Little oval stools like this always sell well!

This is the tapered edge coffee table I got on our daycation.  Painted and sanded.

Three rows of the stamped design added.  I didn’t start out planning to only do three rows, but when I got to this point and paused to look at it, adding more seemed like it would have been too much.  Sometimes it’s good to pause and re-evaluate your design plan.

And now sanded to lighten up the design and make it look likes it’s been there for ages!

These items are currently going into storage until the fall show.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/in-spite-of-the-heat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What an interesting finish! It really looks great!

    I can relate to how you’re hurting over Lewis. I lost my 16-year-old dog Sissy 10 months ago, and I still miss her terribly. I had lost her brother (littermate) Bubba about a year before. Pets are family members and grieving them is completely normal in my opinion.

    The picture shows Sissy (in the red sweater) with my present dog, Sarge, whom we got because Sissy was grieving Bubba so badly we knew she needed someone else to boss around.

    I’m keeping you and yours in my thoughts and prayers. I’m sure that you’ll find Lewis waiting for you someday at the Rainbow Bridge.

  2. Reading your post almost made me cry… not your dresser, its lovely, you little one. I lost my cat (baby girl) Frankenstein after 18 1/2 years. She left us over two years ago just before Christmas. I still miss her, and have never gotten over her loss. My husband surprised me with an new kitten a few months ago. She’s the spitting image of Frankenstein, and occasionally I catch myself calling her that :( Well, I’m not going to write anymore about it because I’m tearing up myself. My thoughts are with you.

    Hugs,
    Sherry

  3. Lewis is waiting for you over the Rainbow Bridge-in his prime and at his sassiest-he isn’t in any pain and he is running and playing with his Mama! And remember he is just a thought away….and is forever in your heart.

  4. I am so sorry about your kitty. I have one who will turn 17 in October. I treasure everyday with him and know his time is limited… He is such an important part of our life…
    Your dresser is fabulous…

  5. I know I already put a comment here, but just the other day I went to an auction for the first time in many, many moons. I had no intentions of buying anything but… yea I guess you know, I did buy. I had a blast!! Please have a look at my latest treasures and tell me what you think. I have an idea what to do with some of them, but a fresh eye is always helpful.

    http://sherrysonmain.wordpress.com/2011/09/17/an-evening-at-the-auction/

    Thanks bunches,
    Sherry


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 789 other followers

