Repurposed spice rack: Halloween decor

Just for fun.  Turned an old spice rack into a Halloween “Sorcerer’s Apprentice” apothecary set.

I almost passed this set up.  (includes spice jars)  But Michael pointed out that I could al least ‘use the little jars’, so I went ahead and bought it at a local rummage sale a few weeks ago.

With a little bit of work and creativity, I turned it into this!

Having NO idea what I could use the knife  for, I used some scrap cardboard to glue on and cover it up.  On second thought, I could maybe use ONE hole to post some sort of banner in, so I punched one hole in the cardboard at the back corner.  Then painted the entire holder black.

The bottles DID have their glass toppers, but when I washed the bottles, they all came apart.  (the plastic cork part came off the glass knob part.  sorry, no pic!) I could have glued them back together and then glued them in place on the jars, but decided to save them for another project. (they kinda look like little ‘genie’ bottles!)

So, after I spent a couple of HOURS scrounging the house and my craft supplies for bottle contents and clever labels for such contents; I cut out circular topper from stained cardstock to glue to the tops of the bottles.  (things like this tend to get opened up and messed with in the mall, IF you make them accessible!)  Then I cut apart a skull and bones border paper I had to put on the top of each.  Glued on a little rubber mouse too.

Thought long and hard about what to print on the banner.  Didn’t want it to be TOO Halloween exclusive; so Sorcerer’s Apprentice fit the bill.

Close up of some of the jar labels.

 

Eyes of newt.

Snake eggs.  These little round ‘things’ are ‘vase fillers’ I bought at Dollar Tree.  Used a magic marker for the newt eyes.  You could also make the white ones into eyes if you wanted to.

Wing of bat; made by cutting up some black fabric leaves.

Ash of eel; a little black glitter mixed with sand.

OTHER INGREDIENTS:

Magic dust: iridescent glitter

Wombat hair: Short cuts bits of excelsior

Spider legs: trimmed some black brush bristles

Firefly wings: Cut up little pieces of screen

Dragon’s breath: Some cream colored tulle

Poison: coarse gravel

USE YOUR IMAGINATION AND HAVE FUN MAKING YOUR OWN!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/repurposed-spice-rack-halloween-decor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMGosh, you’re a creative genius.

  2. This is such a cute idea. One suggestion–spanish moss under the rat would be cute. Really really clever.

  3. So cute!!

  4. That is the just the cutest thing I have seen in a long time! Very..Very creative! LOVE IT!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 814 other followers

