Vintage baskets; basic brown to beachy blue

Thrifted oval wicker trunk.

Thrifted wood slat picnic basket with cheesy PLASTIC eagle emblem, and solid wood top.

Removing the eagle was harder than I thought.  A bit of collateral damage to cover up some how.

I ‘dry brush’ painted both baskets.  LOVE dry brushing!  Love how it looks AND how quick and easy it is to do!  Took maybe a whole 15 minutes to paint each basket.    My remedy for the damage from removing the eagle was to glue on a wood star and tie a strip of tea stained muslin around it.

Both baskets are for sale in my booth at Stars:

This oval one would actually make a nice little coffee table by adding a tray to the top.

Another wood slat basket with an open top, that I’ve had for a while atop the lidded one I just painted.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/vintage-baskets-basic-brown-to-beachy-blue/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi. Could you explain what dry brushing is? I love the whole shabby chic, distressed look and just attempted painting my first picture frame. It turned out great but all I did was paint and then sandpaper it a little. Hope you can enlighten me! Thanks!

  2. What is dry painting?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 828 other followers

