Seeking inspiratioin

Every so often even “I” need some inspiration.  (tis true!)

 While perusing for dresser painting ideas on Better After,  (which is ALWAYS a good source!)   I came across this great collection of salvaged/updated pieces from one of the featured artists.  Take a peek!

This little dresser I just picked up is a PERFECT candidate for a ‘unique make over’.  The single drawer pulls make it easy to ‘work around’ .  Pretty much a blank canvas.  I just can’t decide WHAT to do?!?!?  OR if I’m even BRAVE enough to do a ‘wild’ paint job?!?!

This idea popped into my head as I drifted to sleep the other night.   For the knobs I’d use some BIG oval wood plaques, and make them into letters for the painted on number words.  I just got a totally “WTH?!?!?!” look from Michael when I asked him what he thought.  I’m not convinced I’ll like the asymmetry of the numbers on the drawers.  Might be too unbalanced for me.

I can ALWAYS just paint it white or beachy blue; change out the knobs.   It would sell instantly.  Little dressers always do.  But I’m kinda itchin to do something different too!   Better sleep on it a few more days.  But we’re SUPPOSED to be getting a stretch of warm and sunny days and that’s PAINTIN’  WEATHER in these parts.   So I can’t put it off for TOO long!

Last summer I broadened my painting repertoire with what I called my ‘Cabana stripe collection’.  Remember this big boy???

It sold surprisingly FAST.   I had so much fun painting all the striped pieces, and everything sold quite well.  I have one little shelf (like on the dresser above) and a folding table left over from then.  So I COULD bring back the stripes this year, but I really yearn to do something NEW.  (new to me at least!)

Any thoughts?  And new trends you’ve seen that I may have missed and should give a go???

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/seeking-inspiratioin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m with Michael on the number idea. It does seem like it would be too unbalanced. Unbalanced is nice if it’s done right. This is too unbalanced that it would look like an accident. Since you are doing the “three” with the “e” on the knob, you should do the same for the “one”. That may help out. I would like to see it go in a different direction though. I think a solid color with a pop of color on the knobs would look great. Like a white dresser with your beachy color for knobs. HTH. Good luck. Can’t wait to see what you decide!

  2. Polka dots ! Love ‘em ! … and love the pic of my door ! It is perfect in our dining room – love it more each time I walk past it ! Hope you are doing well and enjoying this wonderful weather … Blessings, Patti


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers

