Getting ready for CHRISTMAS!

Can you believe the Christmas commercials on TV BEFORE Halloween this year?!?!  I suppose it should get us motivated to start preparing for the holiday earlier and avoid any last minute stressing out.  But it seems to have the OPPOSITE effect on me and make me think “I’ve still got PLENTY of time!”  hehe

I am actually almost done with all of my Christmas shopping.  The older I get, the smaller my gift list seems to get.  Michael’s Birthday gift this year (the recliner!) is actually his birthday AND Christmas gift.  I’d been saving up ALL YEAR to buy those recliners!

I had one BIG (115!) order for my handmade ornaments this year.  Now that that is done, I can do a little bit of ‘fun crafting’.  Free patterns seem to abound on blogs this time of year.  Pop over to my DOLLAR DIVA blog  for the links to the free patterns for these cute little ornaments,

Got started on Christmas in my space at Stars:

I’m actually NOT going to do a lot of Christmas stuff at Stars this year.  In the hopes that I’ll sell down more of my regular inventory while it’s at 40% off; as I down-size to a single space again.  Hate to sell stuff I JUST made at such a discounted price.  The older stuff is easy to part with!

I’m packaging as many of my handmade ornaments as I possibly can this year; to prevent breakage and theft.

Doing mostly turquoise and red for my Christmas colors this year.

And most of these are bigger 6-7″ ornaments in this first group of them that I’ve already taken in.

Not even setting up a Christmas tree in either booth this year.  No room for it!

Paper rosettes with plastic snowflakes and Christmas sentiments from a package of pre-printed Christmas tags.

On some like this: I used bigger FOAM snowflakes on the bottom, then my paper rosette, glitter snowflake and topped that with a paper punched flower shape with a big plastic snowflake button topped with a little gemstone.

The rosette on this one is vintage sheet music, but doesn’t show a lot because of the border.  I finally realized that I could fold them so the border part of the folded paper was at the CENTER, which I usually covered up!

Below are tin stars that I paper mached with vintage sheet music and covered with vintage mica flakes.

SO, now that my Christmas shopping is mostly done, my big ornament order is done AND I’ve got some Christmas goodies in my booth at Stars; I can do some ‘just for fun crafting’ and try some of these free patterns!  If you come across any great free patterns, please SHARE via comment; here on my blog or on my Dollar Diva blog comments.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/getting-ready-for-christmas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Merry Early Christmas! The ornaments are beautiful. Love to you and yours! Sunnie


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 788 other followers

