Shabby beach-ified wicker picnic basket

6.4.13 projects CURIOUS Stars 069The middle basket in this stack had been in my booth at Stars for some time.  It was time to bring it home for a make over.  Since the sea grass trunk on the bottom had sold so quickly, I decided to ‘beach-ify’ this one too.

P1070654Since i had put a white fingerling starfish on this one that was still in my booth at Stars, I decided to do something different on this next one.

P1070809So I did a sugar starfish on this one, AFTER I dry brush painted it s slightly darker shade of turquoise.

P1070808The hardest part was finding a starfish FLAT enough to adhere to the wicker.  I used e600, and weighted it down with a heavy box while the adhesive cured.

P1070827Ready to go to Stars.

P1070838It stacks nicely with the other two baskets.

P1070846Priced at $35.00.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/shabby-beach-ified-wicker-picnic-basket/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love all your starfish baskets!!!

  2. I love your blog and have read it for awhile now. I know you love the blue turqouise color,for your projects. Do you ever get inspired to choose a different color? For instance: red, brown, neon pink (lol). I am a big fan of yours. You are so talented, also love your dollar diva blog.

    • Yes I DO get inspired to try different colors, and I have TRIED different colors over the years. NONE of them consistently sell as well for me as my ‘beachy blue color’. Not even WHITE or black! I usually add a bot more white stuff in the spring and black furniture in the fall, and a few pieces sell, but I usually end up repainting them the blue!!
      aj

  3. Love it!! :)

  4. Greetings from SoCal! I have been following you for quite a long time and you are my inspiration! I miss your posts lately and hope you are doing OK!
    All My Bes!
    Nancy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 834 other followers

