And MORE updated picnic baskets!

For some reason, I’ve been finding a lot of picnic baskets lately.  They are ‘one of those things’ that seem to be perpetually popular; so if they are in good condition, I buy them!  Here’s the latest one that I ‘prettied up':

5.27.13 CURIOSITY  baskets 009And it’s a nice BIG one too!

5.27.13 CURIOSITY  baskets 037I did put it out ‘as is’ for a while; then brought it home to ‘fix up’ when it hadn’t sold in a while.

5.27.13 CURIOSITY  baskets 014As I’ve been working on various picnic baskets, I’ve discovered that the ones with the ‘split’ and hinged lids (like this one) tend to hold up the best.

5.27.13 CURIOSITY  baskets 013The ones with the solid lid, like this, tend to become misshapen more easily.  The lid no longer fits ‘perfectly’ on the top rim of the basket.  It still WORKS just fine; just might not be a sturdy in the long run if you are filling and stacking your baskets and it ends up near the bottom with a lot of weight atop it.

P1080149I used a greener shade of aqua this time; and a ‘dry brush’ painting technique for the woven parts of the basket.  (super fast and easy!!  I LOVE dry brush painting!)

P1080147Used a foam roller to paint the lid, the sanded to distress; and added a “FRENCH Market” stencil as a variation from the beach themed baskets I’ve recently done.

P1080148I was a little concerned that the 3/4 lid would look odd with a design on it.  But I just centered it and it looks fine.  (had I NOT liked how it turned out, I would have sanded it off and repainted.)

P1080146

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm???? I guess I forgot to show you the one I did just BEFORE this one too!

P1080001This one has a solid lid.

P1080002But it still fit quite well.

P1080038Aqua paint; dry brushed on.

P1080036And a French Bee design stenciled on the top.

P1080037

P1080079

P1080175Here you can see how much bigger the ‘French Market’ basket (second from top)  is that the ‘Bee’ basket (top).  And the very slight difference in the colors.

P1080176All of these are available for purchase in my booth at Stars Antique Mall in Portland, Oregon.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/and-more-updated-picnic-baskets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. lovely – wish I was close to Portland, I’d stop by! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 825 other followers

