Before and after: grubby ole chair

It DID come with a seat on it.  this photo was taken after I had removed the grubby old seat.  I have Michael use the old seat as a template to cut out a new wood base.

This particular chair needed a little ‘tightening up’ too.  Some of the joints had come loose.  a few drops of glue and a tap with the hammer took care of that problem.

First I gave it a good coat of KILZ primer, then a coat of my own concoction of Robin’s egg blue.  Sanded and distressed it a bit.  NEW wood seat base, NEW foam cushion and new fabric seat cover. 

BTW, when did fabric and foam seats become SO expensive?!?!?  I darn near fainted when I saw the prices!  Thank goodness Joann’s was having a couponapalozza at the time and I had a fistful of 40% off coupons that I was able to use on almost everything I bought.  Still, the new foam seat and fabric cost more than double of what I paid for the chair!

Do you LOVE this aqua and cantaloupe colored paisley as much as I do???

This chair will soon be on it’s way to our space at Camas Antique Mall.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2010/07/31/before-and-after-grubby-ole-chair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very pretty. I like the aqua and cantaloupe colors together also. Nice job!


Leave a Reply

