ReVamped Vintage: new pictures of our space at Stars in Portland

While we mostly took lots of new STUFF to our space in Camas, the re-do at Stars was all about FUNCTIONALITY.  The ‘new stuff’ that we added was some permanent storage shelves, made from old tables, most of which we CUT IN HALF! 

The method behind this madness was to create an attractive and unique way to display the multitude of ‘small stuff’ I always have stocked in the space so that I didn’t have to PILE it on top of all the furniture.  HOPING that this will help the furniture pieces sell better.

The first part of the plan was to get rid of THESE!  I had use them on either side of the front of our space as ‘room dividers’ to create little display vignettes.  They are made from 6′ tall x 3′ wide old fences sections; hinged together in a pair, so they open up into an “L” shape.

In this old photo above you can see how we had used them.  It was nice to have the extra ‘hanging space’ and the two ‘nooks’ on either side of the space to create in.  But after a while I started feeling like I wanted the space to be more OPEN.  Our space is only 8′ wide and 10′ deep, so after a very LONG and succesful run of service at Stars, these two babies have gone to new homes.  We wanted them gone FAST, so I just slapped a $10.00 price tag on them and they WERE gone the next day!

It was nice having that divider at the front of the space to hang our booth sign from too.  It’s now been moved to the back wall, out of necessity.

This big ‘window pane shelf’ that had been at the back wall was moved to the front left of the booth.   It’s a tad bigger than I’d like to have across the front, but it was NEVER going to sell hidden at the very back of the booth.  So, front and center it went; and it will be getting a new ‘red sale tag’ soon!

And here is what the overall booth looks like now.  Can you see what we did with all those tables we cut in half????  I should have and WISH I could have, taken pictures of the ‘table shelves’ BEFORE I loaded them up with product.  Alas, it had been a VERY long day and we had to haul everything from a block away and we still had a LOT of moving around of stuff to do and the camera was in the truck and i just didn’t have the oomph left to go get it just to take a  couple of pictures, only to have to take it back to the truck for safekeeping while we finished moving stuff around!

What we did was take a full size dining room table (solid top, no leaves) a coffee table and cut both of those in half lengthwise.  An end table was cut in half width wise (because of the handle on the front.  We kept one bench and one little side table whole, and Michael built the tall skinny shelf that is in the corner of it all.  Painted everything a very soft grey. 

I had seen the idea of tables cut in half mounted to the wall as shelves in a blog ‘somewhere out there’ a while ago, and KNEW immediately that it was what I wanted to do as permanent (ie not for sale!) shelving in the space.  but I really had NO IDEA how we were going to ‘put it all together’ in the space; except for the positioning of the two halves of the biggest table.  They went in an “L” shape at the back corner.  (one side of our space is OPEN (no wall) to the next space; we have it divided off with free-standing shutters and a tall shelf) So there was really ONLY one place we could put the shelves, considering that with only two legs they had to be bracketed to the wall for stability.

Try to DE-visualize all the small stuff, and this is a pretty good picture of the overall structure.  Under the apex of the two pieces of dining table is the bench we left whole.  On the far left is the little table that was kept whole.  (I didn’t know if I’d need it on TOP of one of the other half tables.)  The left side of the structure is ‘shorter’ than the right because of how the two tables are placed together.  So, the overall design is asymmetrical.

I think THIS is my favorite part, where it goes 3 pieces high.   I want to add more lighting; probably some BACK lighting.  I think I’m pleased with how it all turned out.  Only time will tell if it ‘serves it’s intended purpose’ of freeing up the furniture pieces so they sell faster.

The ‘cabana’ UNslip covered chair is still looking for a new home.

The little round tables are right behind the big front facing window pane shelf, for now; and for lack of a better spot for the time being.  Now that the big fence section room dividers have sold, I’ll be going back in today to rearrange a bit.

There was no place to go but UP with the last little round table!

Cubby shelf full of beach collectibles.

Sheet music crown and top hat, just for fun!

Cloches.

Birds.  Gotta do groups of THREE!

Stacked up benches.

Little aqua shelf on top of a couple of benches.

Tall skinny aqua shelf and green corner shelf.

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s all folks!

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/revamped-vintage-new-pictures-of-our-space-at-stars-in-portland/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I always love looking at your pictures, although I rarely comment. I’ve been a follower/subscriber for a long time.
    I wondered if you would mind answering a question for me. I was thinking about selling the chalkboard (tile grout) at an upcoming show in October. Do you still sell those? Did they go over well? Did people “get” it? I would love it if you would share your price with me. But if not, I totally understand.
    I hope your new revamped space works soooo well for you!

    I mostly am partial to frames and the tables you do. Oh, and the shelves and the knick knacks! how about I just love it all.

    please shoot me an e-mail if you like
    myrepurposedlife@gmail.com
    gail (aka wendygail from the hgtv boards from YEARS ago)

    thanks!

  2. Wow, this is an unconventional way to renovate the furniture. I really love crown and hat that made of sheet music. They’re just sweet!


Leave a Reply

