MORE stripes!!!

Grabbed this ten drawer dresser at a recent rummage sale.  It was actually still sitting on its side on the hand truck when I took the picture.  It needed to stay like that overnight for a little repair on the side; and I KNEW if I didn’t take the before picture RIGHT THEN, that I’d forget!  So, please pardon this weird photo!

I quickly slapped on a bit of my beachy blue paint to see how it looked WITH the green.  Was thinking that maaaaaaaaaaybe I could leave the green and just add blue stripes.  Close, but no cigar.  Besides, the green paint was too glossy!

I gave it a good sanding (coarse sand paper on an orbital sander) and a quick coat of primer (KILZ or Zisner).

Depending on the piece, you usually don’t need to FULLY cover the surface with the primer (especially if you also sanded first!)    This is about how heavily I paint on primer. 

I wanted to do something REALLY different for the knobs.  Been finding lots of curtain rod type finials lately and I’m just DYING to use them as oversize knobs on a chest.  Alas I needed SIXTEEN knobs for this baby, so I had to create my own.  Found some old cut out stars from my primitive crafting days.  PERFECT!  Just needed to find something to back them with to raise them from the surface so you can actually grab them to open the drawers.  These old wooden wheels worked perfectly!  Glued them together with some e6000 and painted them white.

Painted the whole thing my signature beachy blue, and decided to just do stripes on the top, since the drawer pulls are so oversized.  Then sanded the whole thing.  Here you can see a little bit of that original green peeking through.

Also applied a couple of coats of matte varnish to the top for durability.

 

And then, the knobs!

What an awesome dresser for a beach cottage bedroom!

Would be great as a buffet or credenza too!

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/more-stripes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wow! SO cute!! What a transformation! LOVE the star drawer knobs — really makes the piece unique. You have such a good eye to see something plain and make it beautiful!


Leave a Reply

