Getting used to my new digital camera

I LOVE how tiny it is, and that I can just toss it into my purse.  My old one was a huge KLUNKER!  Looked more like a big ole 35mm camera.  BUT I haven’t quite figured out all the functions on this new one yet.  And apparently they don’t BOTHER putting ALL the instructions in the booklet anymore!  

SOMEHOW, the flash got turned on and ALL my pictures that I took at Stars are really BRIGHT!  The ONLY thing the instruction booklet tells you (and YES, I brought it WITH me in my purse!) is WHERE the flash is.  NOTHING about how to turn it off/on.  I guess all that info is on the instructional CD.  And the CD rom my MY computer doesn’t work for reasons unknown.  Guess I better borrow Michael’s computer tomorrow and WATCH the instructions.

The pictures downloaded just fine, but they are HUGE files.  So huge the page usually times out before the picture even loads; so not many pics in this post.  I have NEVER had to adjust picture size when I loaded pics to my computer, so I may have to call tech support (aka my SON!)  for help on that one.

Temps in the hundreds the last few days have pretty much sucked the life out of poor Michael, working OUTSIDE in the heat and TEN hours a day!  I would literally DIE if “I” had to be out in heat like that all day.  The older I get, the less I seem to be able to handle the heat.  It’s like menopause BROKE my temperature gauge and I’m always overheated!

A few months ago a new vendor moved into the space BEHIND my back wall, and put up this HUGE wire monstrosity that practically goes to the ceiling to hang stuff on.  I HATE how the backside of it shows through to MY booth.  But it’s SO high that I can’t really reach (even by ladder!) to the top to cover it.  I TRIED to hang curtains a few weeks ago.  Epic fail.  This was the best I could do for now, a white picket fence section with a new sign on it.

Even in THIS picture, taken from the very FRONT of my booth, you can see the wire monstrosity at the back!

Back BEFORE the wire rack went up it looked SO much better!

BEFORE.

After.  sometimes you just have to do your best with what you have to work with.  sigh

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/getting-used-to-my-new-digital-camera/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What sort did you buy? Often there is a lightning strike on one of the buttons and you press that to make it go on, off or auto. I’d put some clothes pegs and a sheet up as far as you can reach to make your side look nicer. I am sure the other side won’t mind the pegs.

    • I got a Panasonic Lumix. A bit ‘more’ of a camera than I really NEEDED. but there are SO MANY choices these days! It was difficult to narrow it down. PLUS I had NO IDEA what half the stuff means in the descriptions!?!? My old klunker had a 6x zoom; so I KNEW I wanted at LEAST that much zoom for taking close ups for etsy.

      And I didn’t need 20x or MORE zoom. This was has 10x and was in my ‘price range’. That’s pretty much how I made my decision.

      But NO little flash button. It’s probably one of those things that you have to ‘click through’ a bunch of pother stuff to get to; and I just accidentally clicked it while toying with my camera. Will watch the CD today and see it that helps. If not, I’ll make an ’emergency pit stop’ to my son on my way to Stars next time for some camera lessons!

      I tried fabric as far up as I could reach BEFORE I did the picket fence, and it looked really SLOPPY only covering half way up.

  2. Takes forever to open these larger pics ….. maybe you could downsize b/4 posting? Totally love your items and your style! 🙂

    • SO sorry about the big pics. I’ve NEVER had to ‘downsize’ them before and I don’t know HOW to?!?!? It’s the SAME ‘system’ for downloading that I used with the old camera and I didn’t CHANGE anything; nor SEE any options for editing the photo sizes. I even went back and looked AFTER the fact AND when I uploaded them to the blog, and I don’t SEE anything for editing the photo size. Not that I know WHAT I’m looking for, but I’ll click just about ANYTHING to try!

    • SO sorry about the big pics. I’ve NEVER had to ‘downsize’ them before and I don’t know HOW to?!?!? It’s the SAME ‘system’ for downloading that I used with the old camera and I didn’t CHANGE anything; nor SEE any options for editing the photo sizes. I even went back and looked AFTER the fact AND when I uploaded them to the blog, and I don’t SEE anything for editing the photo size. Not that I know WHAT I’m looking for, but I’ll click just about ANYTHING to try!

  3. Hey you have a beautiful booth. Don’t give up. Staple material up and pleat it to hide staples, plus cording. Don’t give up. Your items are wonderful. wished I lived near you to shop.
    have a great weekend.
    Lisa Rose!


Leave a Reply

