Another dresser

I saw this dresser on ‘half price day’ at the thrift store last week but couldn’t buy it because I had already loaded up inventory for stocking at Stars in the back of my car and didn’t have ROOM for it.  

I was headed that way on the NEXT ‘half price day’ and decided to check and see if it was still there; although I really didn’t expect it would be.  LO and behold it WAS still there.  I think the lack of drawer pulls worked in my favor, making it undesirable to others.

A little bit of cracked and peeling paint at the bottom of the inset on the sides (above) And the top was pretty damaged in spots. 

But the drawers were lined and VERY CLEAN!  I can ‘fix up’ just about ANYTHING on the outside, but if it has ICKY drawer innards; I usually PASS!  

Since I was already ‘out and about’ I made another thrift stop and found these awesome vintage PORCELAIN drawer pulls.  Hmmmmmm  WHAT could I use those for?!?!?

Underneath the sagey green paint was some white, the the original walnut stain. I wanted to get all the green sanded off, but gave up after an hour of sanding.

I got most of it off the TOP and the drawers, but not the rest.

Still, I got enough of the old paint sanded off that I didn’t need to apply primer before painting.

And here she is with those vintage porcelain drawer pulls with the ‘backsplashes’. (or whatever those things behind the knobs are called!)  I’ve actually never seen these for KNOBS; but see them often for drawer pulls with handles.

The center metal pieces were REALLY tarnished and icky and would NOT come clean; so I gave them a little black paint.  

I’m in a NON-distressing mood lately!  I left the child’s chairs undistressed, and now this dresser.  I decided that with the knobs being so interesting, and the raised legs and pretty detail on the front legs . . . 

 . . .and the inset side panels, that it really didn’t NEED distressing.  And the distressing would actually DETRACT from the features that make this dresser so pretty and unique.

She’ll be going to Stars as soon as I have room for her.  Tomorrow is ‘booth overhaul day’ and with Michael’s help I’ll be changing around BOTH booths big time!  

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/another-dresser/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. To help remove paint spray it down with oven off,let it sit for a few minutes,take a putty knife and scrape off paint. Really cuts down on the sanding.

    • Carol, I try to avoid ALL chemicals when I refinish furniture. Yes, sanding IS a bit more labor intensive and takes a bit longer on SOME pieces, but I ‘feel better’ about not adding more poison to the environment. (and to my LUNGS!)

      aj

  2. I love how this turned out!! The color you picked is perfect….although, I think my favorite look was after you sanded it and before you painted it!! LOL I can’t help it — “distressed” just appeals to me somehow! 😀 I still love how it turned out painted, and those knobs and backPLATES (;-D) give it just the right touch! I bet it won’t last long in your booth!!! THANKS for sharing this!


Leave a Reply

