Third time’s a charm???

I’ve had this vintage cherub lamp base around for quite a while.

It was a little ‘beat up’, so I gave it a fresh coat of white spray paint, and then planned to sell it ‘as is’; as opposed to turning it into a lamp.  Took it to our booth at Camas, when it sat and sat and didn’t sell.  So I decided to move it to Stars.  But en route it broke!

Here entire left arm just snapped off!  I was heartbroken.  I could not bear to part with her.  thought about breaking off the other arm ala ‘Venue De Milo’ .  But first I tried re-attaching the arm with some e6000 adhesive.  It held just fine, but the repair was VERY noticeable.  Wall spackle to the rescue!  I lightly applied some wall spackle around the seam of the break, and randomly all over to make it look like that was how it was ‘meant to be’.

And it worked quite well.  She had gone to the spring show last April, and when I unpacked her I decided to try to think of ‘something else’ to do with her (since she hadn’t sold!)

I’d been working on a lot of dessert pedestal plates lately, and the cherub lamp DID have a FLAT TOP?!  Voila!  A BIG dessert pedestal plate, of a little ceramic side table.  Whichever you prefer to call it!

It’s in storage for now, until after Halloween probably; when I take the Christmas stuff into Stars.

Whaddya think?  Too FAR outside the box?  Or just unique enough to be a hit!  Wouldn’t she be a fabulous ‘focal point’ on a big wedding dessert buffet?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/third-times-a-charm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would say, if it doesnt sell in white, add some tobacco glaze or something to ‘rustic it up”.

  2. I love it! I think you did a great job!

  3. Valentine’s Day is just around the corner afterall!!! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  4. I would say ‘unique enough to be a hit’. I love everything you do and find your work sooooo inspiring. Since I started following your blog i have bought so much white stuff, cherubs, cloches and birds that I ought to start doing something with it all!!!!

  5. Love it Just waiting for the RIGHT person who needs it for the RIGHT event. Hang in there with it!

  6. I like the way you redid this piece. It has lots more uses than it did in its original form. It should be a big hit now and find a good home.

  7. The only thing I would have done different would be add a bigger curved bowl to use as bird bath bury a pole up the bottom of statue and bury the pole part so it stands well.

    • Good idea to make it a bird bath!! We get SO much rain here AND have so many natural year round waterways, that I never even THINK of bird baths! The hole for the electrical cord in the bottom IS big enough that a small metal pole or piece of rebar would fit perfectly for making it more sturdy. But part of the statue would need to be buried along with the pole so it wouldn’t have any ‘sway’ to it; which would easily break it if it hit against the pole! Thanks for commenting Diane!


Leave a Reply

