My version of the Mad Hatters Hat

For Michael’s family Christmas Gathering there was a ‘best hat contest’.  I don’t wear hats.  But I decided to make a couple to enter into the contest anyhow.  And the hostess of this year’s gathering just happens to be a collector of  “Anything Alice in Wonderland”, so I thought the Mad Hatters hat would be fun to make.

How to make a mad hatter hat

I found some instructions on Pinterest, and while I was cutting out my circles for the base and top, and scrounging for a big enough piece of cardboard for the body of the hat, it struck me!  “It looks just like an upside down lamp shade!”  So off I went to my stash of lamp shades and found one that had been sitting for some time because I couldn’t find a lamp to fit it.

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 006I paper mached the brim and the top to the body (strips of paper and liquid starch) Did several layers, letting it dry between layers.  Lightly sanding after the last layer, and before painting it black.  Covered the whole thing with black glitter.

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 007

After my glitter glue was completely dry, I spray painted a clear varnish over the whole thing to help keep the glitter from shedding.  Alas, that method does NOT work as well with COARSE glitter (which I used on this hat) as it does with fine glitter (which I usually use!)  Lesson learned the hard way!

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 008For decorating the hat I had a turquoise feather boa to use, and found this glittered peacock ornament that I thought would work well.

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 009I needed to be able to glue the peacock to the hat, so I used wire cutters and cut off the feet and clip.  (saved them for use some other time!)

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 011I also had a pretty turquoise glittered Christmas pick; cut the stem off it to glue it to the hat.  Then glued on the feather boa, then the peacock.  (one of the very FEW time I recommend using a hot glue gun)

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 010And of course you HAVE to have the 10/6 price tag!

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 012I WISH I could have made it ‘wearable’, but for it being my first hat I wanted to keep it simple.

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 004I also made this pink crown as the second entry for Michael and me.  Guess who won the contest???

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/my-version-of-the-mad-hatters-hat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What do you use for the base of your crowns?

    • I use cardboard (old cereal boxes in specific!) to make my crowns. Glue the paper to the cardboard, let dry. glue into a circle; let dry. Lastly cut the points.

      aj

  2. Love the peacock one! I hope it won!


Leave a Reply

