I got a Santos for Christmas!!!

I am just GIDDY with excitement!   I got a real (reproduction, REAL real ones are crazy expensive!) Santos doll bust from Michael, Elliot (my son) and Megan (son’s girlfriend) for Christmas.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 100

You can see more Santos cage dolls here, and read about the history of them here.

I have wanted one ever since I saw one for the very first time.   I even ‘attempted’ to make my own a while back.  You can see the one I made right behind the real one above, and here below.

My ‘faux’ version turned out okay, but nothing really like the real thing.  So here’s the story of how I got a Santos doll for Christmas:

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 101

So, as I already said, I have wanted one forever.  Just could never talk myself into spending that much money on something ‘non-functional’ for myself.   I am impossible to shop for.  Every birthday and Christmas my son calls Michael and Michael calls my son, both asking each other what to get for me.   And I NEVER “ASK” for anything.

I’m perfectly content with the ‘useful’ kinds of things my guys usually buy for me.  Stuff like new wiper blades, or new tires for my car, or even a little vacuum cleaner to use in my booth at Stars.  I’m USUALLY all about being practical.  And I tend to get practical things for ‘my guys’.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 105Shortly after Thanksgiving we got this random catalog in the mail.  I flipped through it and saw a Santos doll at an actually reasonable price.  (I ‘think’ it is the exact same  doll as I got, but I no longer have the catalog).  I thought about it for a couple of days.  Looked at it about three times a day . .   Then I noticed they had a coupon for $10.00 off any item over $50.00 AND free shipping.  hmmmmmmmmmmmmm.    But before I bought it for myself I asked Michael if he had bought my gift yet.  And if not, maaaaaaaaaaaaaaybe he and Elliot could go in together and get me this doll; and I gave him the catalog.  And I told him not to wait too long to call about it.  And be sure Elliot wants to go in on it with you.  (hated ASKING them to spend that kind of money on me!!)

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 106

Michael did his due diligence and called right away.  They were sold out!!!  He really read them the riot act!  How can you be sold out?!?  We just GOT the catalog!  Will you be getting any more in???  NO!  So, he broke the news to me and I said fine, it wasn’t meant to be.  And I specifically told him to NOT look it anywhere else.  The ONLY reason I wanted it was that it was ‘reasonably priced’ and had free shipping and the $10.00 off coupon.   And the guys were going to share the cost.

Now the guys are back to square one.  WHAT to get me for Christmas?!?!?  So Michael took the catalog to Elliot and he did his internet magic and found one!  I was absolutely speechless when I opened it.  And for a minute I thought Michael was ‘telling me a story’ just to surprise me.  Nope,  they really were sold out at the catalog place.  But Elliot was DETERMINED to find one for me, because I NEVER ask for anything specific.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 100She will be one of my most treasured possessions for the rest of my life!!  And while my guys aren’t possessions, they are most treasured!

Published in: on December 27, 2012 at 3:40 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/i-got-a-santos-for-christmas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s amazing! And I know what you mean about coveting something but not willing to pay the outrageous prices. Isn’t it so cool when you finally own something you have always wanted?!
    Congrats to the guys for being such great shoppers!!

  2. She really is beautiful – lucky you for having such wonderful boys!


Leave a Reply

