Rescued and revived card storage box

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 007This card storage box from the thrift store had a bit of the paper peeling away.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 008The dividers were in perfect shape.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 009Looking at the INSIDE, it looked like it had never been used.  It would have been easy enough to just re-glue the loose paper on the outside of the box; and store it where it isn’t seen.  Instead I decided to ‘spiff it up’ so that I could leave it out in view.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 021I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to actually buy a card box like this.  “Back in the day’ (before email!) I was a huge card person.  I used to just to ‘card shopping’ and had an old stationary box that I stored them in.  While I don’t SEND cards as often anymore, that hasn’t seemed to stop me from collecting them!  One good friend MAKES cards and sends them to me; like a set of note cards that you would buy.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 023The attached (hinged on) lid was a bit problematic to cover so that it still opened and closed easily.  If I ever do this again I’d probably opt to just ‘cut the hinge’ and cover the lid separately.  It’s not like the hinged lid is a HUGE convenience; and cutting would make recovering it MUCH easier!

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 020I hand stamped a scrap of tea stained paper for the label.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 022Left the inside white.  That ridge where the lid comes down is a bit difficult to cover too.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 024All filled with cards and ready to use.  Now when Michael asks if was have a card for something, I can just tell him to go look in the card box!

Are YOU a card hoarder too?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/rescued-and-revived-card-storage-box/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yes, I am a card hoarder. But how about this? I buy them to send, then forget to send them. I would like to say that this is a sign of age, but I have been doing this since my early 20’s. What’ up with that? So I have a large collection.
    Have a wonderful New Year!
    Lisa Rose
    ourenchantedcottage.com


Leave a Reply

