Love Potion

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 035I hunted for and collected these heart shaped bottles all year, saving them up just for this Valentine project.  All of these were bought at different places and times, but this is a very common find.  I think they might even sell these bottles at craft stores.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 034These are a little more unique.  The lip of the brown one is badly chipped, but I cover the tops so it’s not a problem.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 036A similar, bit bigger than the ones I had a lot of; and an ITTY BITTY green one!

Just a quick reminder of what I did last year.  These bottles were from some imported sparkling cider; so you really don’t HAVE to have heart shaped bottles.  It was just something I decided was worth searching for throughout the year.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 036So I got out my stash of tea stained paper scraps, little alphabet stamps and glue and stamped up a bunch of labels; and cut up some scraps of vintage sheet music to use too.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 037Then I got out my handy dandy new twine dispenser, box of tea stained cheesecloth and some strips of tea stained muslin.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 038I used up some of my scraps of vintage sheet music, little keys, scraps of lace, ribbon just whatever I had on hand!

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 039

The top of this one is covered with a doily (I frequently find little ‘starters’ like this stuffed into the spools of crochet thread that I buy) Then I wrapped it with a rubber band to hold it securely in place, the I made a ‘neck band’ out of a strip of the tea stained paper.  The key is the finishing touch.  Crowns and keys can be added to almost anything!

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 041Another lace doily held in place with a scrap of pink ribbon; this one with a bit of vintage sheet music added.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 042I did a few ‘Bliss’ labels too.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 043Another batch.  The little jar on the left is an old coffee jar.  I covered the plastic lid with paper.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 046

The brown bottle with the badly chipped lip needed to be covered with something more than cheesecloth or a lace doily.  I made a topper out of tea stained paper.  Glued it on, added a paper neck band then some string.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 044Topped with tea stained cheesecloth, held in place with some twine.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 049These are the ones that I had a lot of the same style bottles.  Topped with tea stained cheesecloth and a key.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 050Two more; these topped with tea stained paper and some scrap pink ribbon.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 051Last two of the ‘matching bottles’ and one tall skinny frosted bottle that I just thought was cute!  topped with paper, twine and a key.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 055For the paper covered tops:  tear (or cut!) a circle of paper big enough to cover the top of your bottle AND extend down the sides as far as you’ll need it to go.   for these bottles, I just had the paper go to the edge of the lip.  Scrunch and form you paper into place around the lid.  Remove paper and apply glue to the entire rim of the jar and around the lip and anywhere the paper will go.  Place your formed paper cap onto the glue and hand mold into place.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 056These last two are spice jars that just happened to be in with my box of heart shaped jars and I felt compelled to use them up!  Not particularly fond of how they turned out.  I think I was getting a bit burned out on this project by the time I got to this point!  Oh well!  I priced them really cheap, and if they don’t sell I can always donate them!

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 082All of these have gone to my booth at Stars.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 083

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 084

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 086

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 087

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 088

Cherub dessert pedestal with love potion bottle on top!

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 101I made the gift box on the left, the framed picture and the white beaded heart too.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 103Glare!  UG.  The little sing in the middle says love.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 102Take a dose of each daily and have a great life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/love-potion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your love potions are rockin’ AJ! I love them!!!

  2. What lovely ideas – as usual!!!

  3. […] over to my Trash 2 Treasure blog  to see what I did with these old heart shaped bottles.  I collected the bottles from thrift […]

  4. I really love the looks of these and have a few I should do up similar. I have made Valentine cards and used some doilies etc. and I really enjoy doing that. You really inspire me!


Leave a Reply

