Fixed up firkin

I searched for YEARS for a firkin ‘back when’ I was decorating my home Primitive style.  Sadly, to no avail.  And they are ‘one of those things’ that everyone who collects primitives wants, so when you find them on line or in a retail store, they are crazy expensive!  So imagine my delight when I happened upon this beauty recently at a thrift store?!?!

2.2.13 stars Michael etsy 073

 It was pretty well worn. Most of the varnish had flaked off.   Some remnants of a waxy paper label that was on it; which cracked and peeled right off.  You can still see a little bit of the paper after I refinished it.

4.19 .13 projcest Curiousities 003

It really only took about 10 minutes to prep it.  I was able to sand most of it with my orbital sander.  Only had to hand sand a few spots.

4.19 .13 projcest Curiousities 004After sanding and wiping off all the dust, I gave it a fresh coat of ‘Fruitwood’ color stain.

4.19 .13 projcest Curiousities 052It has gone to my booth at CURIOSITIES in Beaverton; priced at $29.00.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/fixed-up-firkin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is a really nice firkin. I”m glad you left it wood tone.


Leave a Reply

