Nests

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 001How cute is the tiny cheese board and cloche?!?!  I’ve never seen one this small, so I was pretty excited when I found it.

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 004Perfect size for these little nests I have!

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 002I didn’t even need to ‘do’ anything to it before I added the nest.  A pretty ribbon and the price tag and DONE!

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 006Also found this moss-covered wreath while thrifting.  It’s a grapevine nest, and looks like someone just glued the moss on.  I attached the little nest and feather bird . . . . then it sat and sat and sat for weeks!

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 005It needed ‘something more’ but I was stumped as to WHAT.  I just set things like that aside until something comes to me.

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 010I decided to use some of the pretty PAPER ribbon I got a while back.  It’s sooooooooooooo pretty, and SO impossible to work with!  sigh.  I had to use wire cutters to cut the wire edges then the paper just ripped apart.  GRRRRR!!!  I managed to create a bow by tying jute around the center, then used that just to tie the bow to the wreath.  And every time I touched the moss it would SHED!

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 011To cut back on the shedding, I used more jute twine and wrapped it criss-crossed around the entire wreath.  (I wish I’d thought to do that FIRST!)

4.27.13 custom cloche moss wreath 013I guess it’s done??? I’m really not sure.  It still feels a tad bare.  Maybe it just needs a tea stained tag added???  I really try to keep the embellishments on things like this in ODD numbers, so it should be fine with three, but I just still feel like something is missing?!?!?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/nests/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the wreath just the way it is. More would to much!

  2. Oh, I think it’s PERFECT! I’ve seen the moss covered letters and shapes (like owls), but didn’t think to cover a wreath with it. So great for Spring and Summer. And I love the shape of that little cloche. You find the best deals!!! 🙂

  3. FYI I think the wreath is lovely but if you want to add a little more try some berries ( satiny gold finish berry) in the bow for a ittle added color and see if that will work. Love your blog! Keep up the good work and the great ideas!!!!

  4. I don’t comment as often as I should because I love your blog! I think the wreath looks great, but I’ll bet if you did add a tea-stained tag that said “Bless this Nest” somebody would see it and say, “Aha! A perfect housewarming gift!”. You are so inspiring and creative!


Leave a Reply

