Making signs from old cedar siding

Old cedar siding is GREAT fir making LARGE signs on.  The reclaimed plywood I use for all my other signs works fine too, but can get quite heavy with a bigger sign.  The cedar siding also ages to a nice weathered grey, perfect for beach signs.

5.21.13 finds signs projects 002Here are a couple that I painted to make into beach signs.

5.21.13 finds signs projects 003I used the WRONG side of the siding for this board!!  You can see the ridges where I sanded it.  If you want to avoid having those ridges, check carefully for them before you paint, and use the other side.

5.21.13 finds signs projects 003I just decided to ‘go with it’ since these were really ‘experimental’ signs.

5.21.13 finds signs projects 061Here is how they turned out.  Yes, I KNOW the ‘INN” part looks a bit ‘squished’.  These were made with big 5″ alphabet stencils, and it’s really hard to pre-guage the spacing with  it having it already laid out on a single stencil.  I seldom use these because of that and because it is much more labor intensive.

5.21.13 finds signs projects 060I had used this alphabet set to make a nice big ‘MAN CAVE’  sign for Curiosities, and wanted to see if I could speed up the process by making multiple signs.  Only time will tell if I use them again in the near future!

While the alphabet stencils are too time consuming for ME to use very often because of the extra time involved and because I’m making SO MANY SIGNS they aren’t ‘productive enough’ .  For those of you who only want to make a few signs now and then for yourself or as gifts, the ARE much more reasonable (cost wise!)  than buying the ‘ single saying’ or ‘single word’ stencils I buy and use.  Depending on how fancy and how big they are, stencils can run up to $50.00!  ouch!  Easier for me to absorb the cost of stencils because I get a LOT of use out of them!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/making-signs-from-old-cedar-siding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. everything you do is lovely!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

