Ball and clawfoot table

Ventured into the Goodwill ‘Bin’ (outlet) store last week.  I don’t go there very often because the place kinds give me the heebie-jeebies!  The way people flock like lemmings when a new bin is rolled out is absolutely crazy!  And the people who take naps on the old sofas in the furniture area?!?!? shudder!

BUT, it is worth it to occasionally ‘brave the crowd’ to find some amazing treasures!  Here’s the beauty I scored on my last trip:

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 093She had one very wobbly leg (just needed another screw)

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 095And a SERIOUSLY stained and scratched up top.

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 096Some of the scratches were downright GOUGES.

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 097And I wasn’t even sure that it was a solid wood top, and not just veneer that would sand off as I sanded down the scratches.

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 094But look at those LEGS and FEET!!!  It was worth buying even if I had to take the legs off and toss the top on the burn pile!

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 103I could not wait to start working on this baby!  First order of business was to have Michael hunt down a replacement screw for that wobbly leg.  Done.  Then to see if I could sand out those stains and scratches.  A 20 minute session with my orbital sander and that was done!

6.16.13 BOTH + projects 104And much to my delight, the table WAS solid wood and all the scratches sanded out beautifully.  And we had a dry weekend so   I got it painted the next day!

6..18.13 projects Curiosities 003

Darn glare!

6..18.13 projects Curiosities 002Now you can see the top!

6..18.13 projects Curiosities 004Distressing really enhances the carved details.  I used my orbital sander for the distressing too!

6..18.13 projects Curiosities 006I love, LOVE, L-O-V-E how this one turned out!!!

6..18.13 projects Curiosities 005I used some brown craft paint on the balls.  A quick coat of varnish on the top and I was DONE!

6..18.13 projects Curiosities 055I could not WAIT to take this table to my booth at CURIOSITIES in Beaverton.  

She has a price tag of just $59.00!  

I also just  added several more new pieces in this color to my booth at Curiosities.  PIcks of those in another post later.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/ball-and-clawfoot-table/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. She’s a b beauty!

  2. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.

    Please let me know. Thank you


Leave a Reply

