Repurposed / upcycled vintage crochet spools

I don’t know why big jars and bowls filled with spools and balls of old crochet yarns/threads

are SO appealing to me?!?  They just ARE!  And it’s a fairly popular decorating trend also.  The first time I saw a jarful in a booth, I HAD to have one too!    I’ve been curating and collecting and creating with vintage commercial yarns (on the BIG come spools) and regular size ones.  Here’s some of the stuff I’ve done with them in the past:

Roll them into balls and sell them by the bagful in my antique mall booths,

Occasionally I’ll have compiled enough of them that I can just toss them in a big bowl or basket and price them individually; as shown on the bottom shelf of this rusty planter rack.

When I can find jars that are BIG enough, I’ll fill them and sell the whole thing together.

Assorted yards and altered spools of string individually priced and displayed in a big wood bowl.

2.2.13 stars Michael etsy 016

And maybe sometimes toss in a few hand stitched felt hearts that I’ve made.

Individually decorated some of the fuller crochet spools I found.

Displayed and sold them individually.

LOVE IT when I can find these big old ‘mercantile jars’ (1 and 2 gallon sizes!) to fill.  Have a couple of these at home with my personal collection!

And it’s especially fun to find the big Industrial size spools!

Yep, I LOVE spools of yarn!  (and apparently so do my customers because they always sell well too!)

Here’s an entire post I did a while back on crafting and decorating with string and crochet threads with LOTS more pictures that I won’t bother to copy and paste if you are looking for some more inspiration.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 016

I found some itty bitty spools last year . . .

12.17.12 finds hats nude beach sign 017

Turned some into snowmen; inspired by some I saw made of regular size spools of crochet yarn.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 037

A topped a bunch of them with little bottle brush trees.

My little collection at home.

10.3.12 stars projects 096

Having seen the cute snowmen made from them, I decided to try some Jack-o-lanterns last fall.

9.22 12 etsy projects 003

 

Those cute little witch hats came in a four pack from the craft store.  I cut the faces from black paper and just glued them on.  Black crepe paper rosettes on the bottom for a collar.

9.22 12 etsy projects 008And when I ran out of the purchased hats, I made my own with a back paper come and a rosette.

WHAT’S NEXT?!?!  I’d been staring at a pile of them for a while, trying to think of something ELSE to create with them.  I had just finished a new batch of cake and cupcake stands; so I thought I’d try to make some ‘mini cakes’ out of them to display on the cake stands:

P1070454I just got out a bunch of my fabric embellishments and started decorating them.  For some I had a smaller matching one that I was able to put on top.  I think those are my favorites.

P1070460Some are made of colors that I don’t normally use.  But it was either use them up or toss them in the donate bag, so what they heck?!?!

P1070458I wish I’d had some bigger strands of pearls to use.  I think that would have really made them look much better!

P1070459Or maybe I should have kept the small ones separate and out them in a fluted cupcake paper???

P1070461 This one is a small ‘cupcake size’.  Like I said, I was just ‘using what I had’, so they’re not my BEST work.  But I had FUN making them.  

P1070510

So, whaddyathink???  Yay or Nay?  Maybe just different/better embellishments?  I’m open to suggestions!  This was just one of those projects that I just ‘went with it’.  Not really having a ‘vision’ of how I wanted them to turn out.  It’s always a process though.  What would you try next??

P1070513I’ve taken them all to my booth st Curiosities in Beaverton.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/repurposed-upcycled-vintage-crochet-spools/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You are amazingly creative! They’re all great, and so varied I’m sure anyone would find one that suits their style. Personally my favorites are your two bigger cream/white ones with the kraft paper (?) strip, lace and buttons around the center. Also the Christmas trees on the small spools are fantastic. The textures of the thread and the cottony lace in those gorgeous neutral creamy tones are really appealing. Not sure if your spools are too big, but what about using them to make a wreath? Or some way to use them as wall décor (for those of use running out of horizontal surfaces!). Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

