Sulking a bit

Along with the ‘anniversary weekend’ photos, the computer ate a bunch of my project pictures too; so I’ve been sulking over that instead of posting lately.  The past couple of nights it’s been getting quite chilly overnight and the cooler air is beginning to smell like FALL; making me realize that my ‘painting marathon days’ will soon be dwindling!  Time to get busy and get more of those bigger projects DONE, and soon!

7.13.13 Both + finds 205I got this wrought iron etagere  painted turquoise and cleaned up the glass shelves.  Spray paint is your bet option for painting stuff like this.

P1070860It has gone to my booth in Curiosities, displaying a selection of my upcycled cake and cupcake stands.  It IS for sale too though; $119.00.

P1070823And whilst I was spray painting I went ahead and painted this little vintage wire newspaper rack.  Thought it would be cute filled with pillows.  It’s still in storage for now though.

7.13.13 Both + finds 197Got this little night stand all spruced up too.  Took the handle off and sanded the whole thing with my trusty orbital sander.

P1070812Gave it two coats of my ‘beachy blue’ paint then a bit more sanding to distress.  For varnishing, I usually only do the TOP of chests, shelves and tables.

P1070815Sanding mostly along the edges and raised areas where it would ‘naturally wear down’; then on the flat surfaces for good measure.  P1070816You want your sanding to be very ‘haphazard’ so it looks more like it happened naturally, over time.  I don’t quite know how to describe it; but sometimes I see distressed pieces and the just look too PLANNED; too perfect!

P1070814Simple designs like this with just one (or two) drawers are perfect candidates for a big ‘statement knob’.  I just a thrifted porcelain rose knob on this one.

P1070813Isn’t she sweet?!?!  This cutie will be going to Stars sometime in the near future; hopefully along with the 2 drawer one I am working on today!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/sulking-a-bit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

