Outdated / Updated Jewelry box

7.13.13 Both + finds 200Rummage sale jewelry box, still covered with dust!  The MAIN thing I look for in old jewelry boxes before buying them to update is CLEAN INNARDS!   I’d say about 90% of them that I look back are not clean enough inside for me to buy.  No one wants to store their jewelry in a fabric lined and very stained drawer!

7.13.13 Both + finds 201The doors open up to three more drawers.  Opening the bottom drawer activates the music box. This one was considerable more elaborate than I had ever worked on before, but it had clean innards and the price was right; even if it didn’t turn out ‘good enough to sell’.

P1080050I’m actually quite pleased with the way it turned out!

P1080054I even painted the back!  There’s the crank for the music.

P1080051This was a more labor intensive project than I thought it would be.  Painting the metal grating on the doors took more time than anything else.

P1080053I was however, able to do a fair amount of the sanding to distress with my orbital sander.  Only had to supplement a little bit of hand sanding.

P1080052Lots of ridges and raised details make for great distressing.

P1080076It went to my booth at Stars.

P1080084

And has already SOLD!

P1080083

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/outdated-updated-jewelry-box/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

