What is the DEAL with me and computers!?!?!

You’ve heard of people with green thumbs who are good with growing plants?  And if you KILL plants, they say you have a black thumb.  I must have black HANDS, because I kill computers!!!

YEP!  My computer os broken yet again!  sigh.  And this time I really did NOT even touch it!  Went to check email in the morning and had no power.  Checked the breakers because we HAD had a stormy night that night.  Breakers were fine.  Looked at the back of my CPU (not that I knew WHAT I was looking for?!?!) but thought maybe the cat had pulled a wire out.  All power lights are ON.  But my computer won’t power up. 

I think maybe I should have been born in the days before technology!

So now I’m debating getting it fixed ar getting a new one.  Guess I’ll HAVE top at least ‘take it in’ to find out IF it’s even fixable or WORTH fixing.  I’d already told myself that ‘next time’ I had computer issues it was time to get a new one.  Just gotta decide what I want.  And if maybe waiting for the Christmas sales I could get a better deal.  For now I’m having to share Michael’s computer; so posts will be minimal until I have my own again.

Had a gorgeous warm sunny fall weekend and was able to work outside both days. Got lots of sign boards prepped, and prettied up an ugly black cabinet that Michael dragged home.

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 048

If it looks like the top part of this has been hacked, it has!  I had to ‘put it back together’ for a before picture since the original pic is on the broken computer! 

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 049

The top of this cabinet was really ‘chewed up’; no real way to repair it, so we just cut it off and made a new top.

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 050

 

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 051The ‘innards’ were in surprisingly good shape.  The shelf came loose though and had to be replaced.

 

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 052

Michael ‘be-headed’ it (getting in the Halloween spirit!  hehe!)  Had to leave a bit of the sides in place and couldn’t cut flush with the top, so we left a bit of a ‘cubby’.

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 064

With the new shelf in place, I first freshened up the interior white paint.  Then painted the outside in aqua.

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 063

See the little cubby at the top?  I just got this new ‘French script’ stencil and I’ve been dying to use it!!!  Thought the front of this cabinet was perfect for it!

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 065

Fun little wrought iron pull, that I later attached a big old repro skeleton key to.

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 076

Perfect, no?

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 082

Very cool one piece wrought iron base with legs.

10.7.13 stars etsy projects 075

This little lovely will soon be in my booth at Curiosities in Beaverton.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/what-is-the-deal-with-me-and-computers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like the internal power supply has failed. Computers are just like cars, have lots of bits and bobs that make it work. You can replace the internal power supply, if you know what you are doing. Probably best to get it checked. Often the fans can get full of muck and fail causing an overheating problem and then the computer will konk out, too. Either way, no computer is a pain!
    I love the little cupboard you did over. Very cute!

  2. Love the cupboard!! Ingenious idea to cut the bad top off and make the little cubbie! I never would have thought of that. You are a lucky woman to have a hubby that drags curbside treasures home to you!

  3. This is ADORABLE! Such talent!

    Ann Burt
    Mary Kay Inc.


Leave a Reply

