Updated jewelry box

I forgot to take a picture before I started sanding this one, but you can still see mostly what it looked like originally; a dark mahogany color glossy finish.

10.18.13 both malls prijects 031

Being that it was so glossy, it HAD to be sanded before repainting.

10.18.13 both malls prijects 032

I wasn’t really thinking AHEAD very far when I bought it though!  This pristine creamy white interior was difficult to KEEP that pristine while sanding off the DARK exterior!?!?  Lesson learned!   I just ‘popped off’ the knobs; then glued them back in at the end.10.18.13 both malls prijects 039

I tried hand painting it first and it just was NOT covering very well.  The few spots where I had sanded all the way through to the bare wood (particle board!  ack!!) just kept soaking up the paint.  time to break out the spray paint!10.18.13 both malls prijects 038

A couple of good coats of spray paint covered up all the flaws perfectly.  Then I added a stenciled on design.10.25.13 BOTH + etsy + projects 022

A protective coat of varnish once that dried and done!10.25.13 BOTH + etsy + projects 023

This piece has gone to my booth at Curiosities in Beaverton.10.25.13 BOTH + etsy + projects 024

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2013/11/28/updated-jewelry-box/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I totally love your Jewelry box! It’s so simple and exquisite, I wish I could have that!


Leave a Reply

