Waste Not ~ Want Not! Using up wood scraps

Michael gets the reclaimed wood that I use for making my signs and cuts it to certain basic sizes and keeps several shelves full of it in our workshop.  I ‘pre-piant’ my sign boards assembly line style.  Line up as many as will fit on the work table and basecoat them all in black.  Once dry, I paint the color top coat; then distress.  NOW they are ready for the designs to be painted on them. 

I keep a stash of these pre-painted boards stocked up in my craft room.  When I am ready to letter the signs, I select the sizes/colors that I want and usually do several of each design at a time.  Since we don’t individually cut each board to size to exactly fit each stencil; I end up doing that final cut at the END of the process.  Then I just touch up the black paint on the end that I cut.  This leaves me with a LOT of little painted scraps of wood.

P1100559

And THIS is what I do with all those little scraps!

P1100558

I have foam alphabet stamps and stamp a single letter on each scrap of wood when I get enough of them built up.

P1100596

These little ‘monograms’ are for sale in my booth at Stars; priced from $3.00 – $5.00.

Use them to spell out a word, or just your initials.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/waste-not-want-not-using-up-wood-scraps/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Where do you get foam stamps that large? I’ve been looking for some. Awesome idea to use up the scraps!

    • I have had these stamps for YEARS, and have about worn them out! I, too have been looking for more this big and not found they anywhere. I bought these at local retail craft stores, probably 10 years ago.

      aj

  2. Here is another great idea for scraps! I saw this on Pinterest and thought about you and your scraps!


Leave a Reply

