Putting this topic to BED!

Dear Lover of Books,
 
  I can see that you are determined to have the last word here.  However, this is MY blog, so I get the last word.  My first thought when I read your over-blown first comment was to just delete it and be done with you and your nonsense.  Of course I don’t expect everyone to agree with me, or what I do; or like it.   Unsolicited critiques are quite a different thing.  While I do, oftentimes ask my blog readers for their opinions and what they think about certain projects.  In this instance, I did not.
 
You really should have quit while you were ahead.  Your second comment was such a vast turn-around from you first one, that initially, I didn’t even realize it was from the same person!  Now that you have confessed to being a writer, my initial inkling that you were taking this ‘destruction of books’ extremely personally, has been validated.  
 
OR perhaps a good ‘stopping point’ would have been when you professed to having discovered that ‘book altering’ HAD indeed been around for a while and IS fairly popular.  You could have simply said, “I’ve never seen anything like this.  It’s different, but it just does not appeal to me personally.”  Instead, you made it a personal assault on me as an artist; and criticism of anyone else who could possibly appreciated this kind of thing.
 
 Nope, you kept right on going.  You have an inexplicable need to be RIGHT about this, and to have the last word.  Seriously???  FIVE comments on something that you don’t even CARE FOR?!?!   You climbed from your soap box up to your HIGH HORSE and decided that you are now an art critic as well as an author.  You pulled one very PARTIAL definition of ‘kitsch’ from your memory bank (or perhaps you did look in a dictionary) then abbreviated the definition to support YOUR personal point of view.
 
When I looked up the word ‘kitsch’; I found the following:
 
– excessively garish or sentimental art
 
– something of tawdry or vulgar design, appearance, or content created to appeal to popular or undiscriminating taste. 
 
– Kitsch (n.) something that appeals to popular or lowbrow taste and is often of poor quality. 

– Kitsch (/ˈkɪ/loanword from German) is a low-brow style of mass-produced art or design using popular or cultural icons. Also referred to as “tacky“,[1] the term “kitsch” is generally reserved for unsubstantial or gaudy works or decoration, or works that are calculated to have popular appeal.[2]

The concept of kitsch is applied to artwork that was a response to the 19th-century art with aesthetics that convey exaggerated sentimentality and melodrama, hence, kitsch art is closely associated with sentimental art. Kitsch is also related to the concept ofcamp, because of its humorous, ironic nature
 
.~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
While there were other readers/commenters who professed that they could NEVER rip apart a book as I had done;  (and I absolutely respect that)   they did not continue on to verbally me for what I had done;  or anyone who would do so or anyone who could approve of such, as you did.  Rather, they gave me props that I was doing something to prevent these books from being obliterated in one way or another.  
 
My advice to you, ‘A Lover of Books’, is to stick to what you love and know.  Hoard your books, continue to write whatever it is you claim to write and take your photographs.  Keep you head stuck in that hole in the ground that it is apparently now stuck in and never try anything new or broaden your view.    Maintain your narrow-minded view of the world, especially that of the art and craft world.  
 
Keep your soapbox handy for a leg up to your high horse.  Enjoy the view from your high horse as you look down upon the lowly crafters and upcyclers of the world.  Just please remember to clean up the crap that your horse leaves behind.   
 
In ALL sincerity,
aj
 
P.S.  ALL your comments have been deleted and you no longer have the ability to post comments on my blog.  
Published in: on January 27, 2014 at 11:33 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/putting-this-topic-to-bed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You go girl!

  2. LMBFBO ! I sooo wanted to tell her the very same (or similar thing) she surely protested way too much that she really WAS creative. I’m sure she will now move on to someone else she can “critique” , those mean spirited people usually do.
    Looking forward to your next creation…and I so hope it’s with unusable books LOL

  3. It’s a book people! Wow if they would be more concerned about animals, our veterans and our elderly, this country would be a better place to live. AJ, I love your work! Not everything is my taste but that is my opinion and they are like —- everyone has one! But I hate when people don’t do what my mother always taught me to do and that is if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything at all! Keep blogging my friend!!!

  4. ROFL!!! You go girl! That person obviously had too much time on their hands and not enough sense in their head!

  5. Glad I missed that meme! Personally, I love your work. . . .And your response!

  6. “This Is Your Blog” I have been blessed with enjoying it for some time now. It has been uplifting, sometimes funny but most of all it has been encouraging and inspirational. Please do not allow others to dampen your joy. I cannot speak for others but “WHO” you are is what has kept me coming back to share in your endeavors.

  7. Thank you for recycling things many people throw away. Including books. I know it’s not done just to make a profit, I can see the love you put into every piece. They are all works of art. Just wish I was closer to take some lessons from you, I live in Georgia, but you do inspire me! My problem is I just don’t know where to start! Thank you for sharing your treasures!

  8. good grief! I guess I missed this poor miserable person’s attack on you, & I’m ok with that! you just keep on keepin on AJ! we love what you do! you’re an inspiration to myself & other crafters out there! poo poo on the haters!!!

  9. AJ, Well said.

  10. you go! I love what you do here!


Leave a Reply

