Buttons,BUTTONS! What to do with all those buttons?!?!?

So I found this big gallon jar filled with buttons at Stars last week and HAD to buy it!

P1130020

Spent my first evening with them sorting according to colors; and sorting out all the ones that still had thread or fabric on them that needed to be removed.  (as soon as I can find my seam ripper!)

NOW WHAT DO I DO WITH THEM?!?!?

I’ve been cleaning out my craft room and getting rid of (donating to GW!) a lot of old craft supplies that I have not touched for TEN years or longer.  For the most part, if I brought it with me when I moved out here with Michael and have not used it since then, IT GOES!

P1130027

But then I came across THESE plaster ostrich size eggs that I bought at Dollar Tree WAY more than 10 years ago.  ‘Back when’ I did folk art and primitives I used to paint designs on them.  Was even invited to display some of my painted eggs at a special art show at a winery.  Long story short, we switched over to cottage and shabby chic and I haven’t had a use for the big ceramic eggs since.  But I really did NOT want to get rid of them because I KNOW you can’t find them anymore; and if I DID toss them I just KNOW I’d see an idea on Pinterest for them the very next day!!  But I PROMISED myself that I would NOT keep things I did not have an immediate use for.    THEREFORE:

P1130030Button covered plaster ostrich eggs!

P1130031

I got that “Seriously?!?!” kind of look from Micheal when I showed them to him.  Can’t blame him, as I am not entirely ‘sold’ on the either!

P1130034

But at least I kept my promise to myself and USED them!

P1130044

Now we’ll see if anyone actually BUYS them from my booth at Stars.  I only made three of them; put them in little felt baskets with some pretty iridescent grass.  HOPEFULLY no one DROPS one because they will shatter!!

SO WHAT’S NEXT WITH THOSE BUTTONS?!?!?

P1130039

Again, some old supplies that have been sitting around for years!  Little satin jewelry boxes with buttons glued on the tops.

P1130036These are at least a little more ‘practical’.  Can be used as a gift box for a small gift or as a pretty storage box.

P1130037

Layers upon layers of buttons until all the surface was covered.  (used tacky glue on these and the eggs.)

P1130079

Added a pretty sheer ribbon as a finishing touch before taking them to Stars.

NEXT BUTTON PROJECT ?!?!

P1120057

Maybe this little pink jewelry box???

P1120058

I had originally planned on repainting it, but decided to leave it pink since I was adding the buttons.

P1130163

Just a few slightly pink buttons amongst all the white ones.

P1130118

The inside top was a little scratched up.  Probably from where a mirror had originally been.  I just covered it with some pretty scrapbook paper.

P1130115

That’s it on the button projects for now.  LOTS more buttons to use up still.

 Any suggestions?!?!?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/buttonsbuttons-what-to-do-with-all-those-buttons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love what you have done with the buttons and would buy them! How about on small frames?

  2. Donate your unwanted craft items to the outpatient cancer center at your nearest hospital. The families and patients do crafts while getting chemo.

    Sent from my HTC One™ X+, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  3. Small jars of buttons.


Leave a Reply

