UPdated two drawer night stand

P1140879The previous 2 night stands that I took to Stars have sold already.  Just updated this one and took it in to my booth.

P1140880Not a terribly ‘exciting’ piece, but drawers are always a big plus; and these drawers were super clean to boot!

P1150012Avery light sanding and a coat of primer to prep this piece since the body of it was constructed of the ‘dreaded particle board’!  But the drawers were constructed of pine at least!  As always, I painted the backside.

P1150010 Distressing along the edges really brings out the detail.  Didn’t ‘heavily distress’ the top, sides and drawer fronts because the white primer coat showed through.  Had to sand extra hard to get down to the brown.

P1150008Those dated handles HAD to go.  Fortunately I had a thrifted pair that fit the existing holes.  (otherwise I’d have to fill the holes with putty and drill new ones and somehow disguise the old holes because even though they have been filled and painted over, then still ‘show’.)

P1150009The detail on the bottom shows up a lot more with distressing.

P1150011Side view.

P1150013These drawers were SO clean that they didn’t NEED to be lined; but just for fun I put some old Atlas pages in them.

P1150030Available in my booth st Stars for $62.00.

P1150059

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/updated-two-drawer-night-stand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I feel your pain with particle board. As a newbie, I tried to paint a bookshelf I pulled out of the trash with homemade chalk paint. I eventually got everything covered, but trying to put the shelves in I scraped the paint and it went downhill from there. Light sanding and primer noted! I just happened to think about this post I came across the other day where a DIY guru used napkins and some sort of resin to cover the old brass hardware and they look really cool! http://inmyownstyle.com/2012/08/how-to-update-brass-drawer-pulls.html


Leave a Reply

