Two drawer nightstand make over: Outdated – UPdated.

Remember when big CLUNKY furniture like this was ‘in style’?

P1150622I didn’t really even like it ‘back then’!  But white paint can make just about anything look soft and sweet!

P1150623It had a satin finish, and was pretty scratched up, so it needed a really good sanding to prep before painting.

P1150624A bit MORE hand sanding that I ‘like’ to have to do, but ‘the price was right’ so a little extra work was worth it!

P1150715Two+ coats of paint (the detailed areas that had to be painted by brush needed a third coat of paint; larger areas that I could ‘roll’ paint on just needed two) and some sanding; both by hand (detailed areas) and orbital sander (flat surface areas); some new drawer pulls and it’s an entirely NEW piece!

P1150716The new drawer pulls were a thrift store find, still in the original packaging and had a grey background, so I didn’t notice that they were actually a very pale AQUA in the center.  (Happy accident!) I had some other pulls to choose from, but they all had WHITE handles and the white was TOO white to go with the creamy white paint finish.

P1150717Differing levels of sanding (some spots ALL the way to the wood, and some just through a layer of the paint) add more depth to the piece and help it look more ‘naturally distressed’.

P1150719The backing was particle wood (YUCK!) so I painted over it.  Applied two coats of varnish to the TOP only.

P1150721The drawer ‘innards’ were in pretty good shape, just a few ‘pen marks’; still I decided to add some paper as a drawer liner; using old road atlas pages, glued to the bottom.

P1150718I think I’m going to hang on to this one for now.  Have a bedroom make-over rattling around in my head that I might want to save it for.

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/09/10/two-drawer-nightstand-make-over-outdated-updated/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love what you do with the furniture. I wish I had more bedrooms so I could furnish one with your furniture.

  2. So pretty! Can you do a YouTube video on how you do this? Believe me, if I lived closer and not on the East Coast, I would be shopping every week at your shops!!! Love!


Leave a Reply

