OUTDATED – UPDATED; Little decorative cupboard

P1150860The manufacturer’s tag called this an Easter decoration.  It’s just over 16″ tall; but I thought it looked like spare rolls of toilet paper might fit in the two open cubbies and that it would be a cute bathroom storage piece!

P1150861The decorative painting was NOT ‘raised’ (as it typically tends to be on mass produced pieces like this; necessitating a LOT of sanding to make it smooth before repainting)  so this would be QUICK to make over.  I did end up having to sand the front of the drawer, but only because I scratched it up trying to remove that pink PLASTIC drawer pull!  It would NOT budge, so I git out the pliers.  The pliers just BROKE off part of the knob and I STILL could not get it to un-screw!  Ended up breaking it off, bit by bit, and scratching up the front of the drawer in the process when my hand slipped with the pliers.

P1150862Except for the area ‘just under the moulding’  was able to paint the entire outside with a foam roller.

P1150895I did succumb to using spray paint for inside the cubbies since the space was just too ‘tight’ to get a brush into.  Spray painted them FIRST so I didn’t have to tape off the edges for over-spray.

P1150893I replaced that pink plastic knob with a pretty clear crystal one.  *(I keep a stash of knobs and pulls on hand.  This particular one came from Michael’s craft store; on sale of course!)

P1150896I opted to NOT distress this piece since it was lavender paint that would have shown through.

Keeping this one for now as I have a bathroom make-over coming up in the near future and I just might use it for a TP holder!

P1160009

With my bad back and the placement of TP holders in some homes, I can’t always REACH the TP because I can’t turn that far around.  In this house the hall bathroom TP holder is on the same wall as the toilet and you almost have to turn all the way backwards to reach it?!?!?  So I keep the roll on top of the lidded hamper just across for the toilet, within easy reach.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/outdated-updated-little-decorative-cupboard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Perhaps we should consider pink plastic daisies when drafting plans for the construction of bridges and skyscrapers!

  2. That turned out really nice.


Leave a Reply

