UPCYCLED PEDESTALS

Something different to make from thrifted candlesticks instead of finials.  Not that making finials is a BAD thing.  It’s just time for something different!

P1160105I’m not certain that this one IS a candle holder, or maybe the top piece was missing.  Regardless, it works for what I’m going to do with it!

P1160108I used a couple of these little routed wood plaques from the craft store; one slightly bigger than the other.

P1160115Glued the two wood pieces together; then glued them to the TOP of the pedestal.

P1160117This is the ‘upside down’ view; showing the edges better.  Since I was trying to emulate the look of the base of this piece, I put the bigger piece pf wood on TOP.

P1160109Here you can see how the top and bottom ‘balance each other out’.

P1160119Used flat black spray paint on this for the final coat.  Used acrylic craft paint for the wood squares I added on.

P1160121Hand sanded to distress the edges.

P1160120The distressing didn’t show up as much on the plastic parts.

P1160110Decided to do something similar with this carved wood candlestick at the same time.

P1160111

It was a difficult decision to paint over all these pretty pastel colors, but I talked myself into it!

P1160116

Glue the wood round to the candlestick top using e6000.  Then flip it upside down white the glue sets.

P1160122

While this one would have worked to paint with ‘brush on’ paint; I used flat black spray paint . . . but only because I was doing these two items at the same time; and it saved me some time.  (time is money!)

P1160123

Close up of the distressing done by hand sanding the raised areas.

P1160137This is how I displayed them; incorporated into my Halloween display.  Both have already sold.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/10/19/upcycled-pedestals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Great idea… Can’t have enough candlesticks!! Sharon


Leave a Reply

