Just a few more aqua tables . . .

Nothing new or different or exciting.  Just some more old tables that I repainted aqua.  Same old, same old!  But HEY!  They SELL!!

P1160362

I can’t even count how many of this exact same style of tables I have done over the years!  A very basic, simple style.  One of those put it together yourself ‘kit’ tables.

P1160364The top had a fair amount of warping from water damage.  I suppose I could have spent HOURS sanding it to a perfectly flat surface.  But the more time I spend on a project, the more I have to charge for it.  Sometimes it’s worth the ‘investment’ (of time and effort); sometimes not.  In this case it was not.  You just can’t charge that much for a little table like this.

P1160365So I ‘worked with’ the flaws and distressed the rest of the table accordingly.

P1160367Very similar to the previous one, but not water damaged; and this one had been base-coated (POORLY so! very splotchy) with white.  I thought about continuing with the white, but then I remembered how many times in the past I have had to haul white pieces back home from my booth, to repaint aqua, because they didn’t sell!

P1160371Just a few bits of distressing on this one as I didn’t want a lot of the white to show through.

P1160374BIG, oval Danish style coffee table with lovely curved legs, but quite a scratched up top.

P1160376I was dealing with ‘weather issues’ when I painted these three pieces.  It turned really DAMP out overnight and I found them COVERED with stuck on gnats the next morning!!!  ACK!!  And the paint was WETTER than the day before.  Had to wipe off the first layer of paint and finish painting them inside the house.  Turned the washer/dryer into a make-do painting station.

I REALLY got behind on my furniture painting last summer because it was SO dang hot outside!!  I just can’t handle working outside in over 90 degree temps; which we had for MOST of the summer.  Hottest summer on record for Oregon, I think they had said.

Consequently, no really BIG furniture pieces for me this year.  sigh.  Oh well, the small ones always sell better.  But the big pieces LOOK so fabulous in my booth!

P1160382All three of these tables have gone to my booth at Stars Antique Mall in Portland.

P1160421

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/just-a-few-more-aqua-tables/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

