Upcycled card boxes

Some boxes are just too nice to toss onto the recycle bin once you’ve emptied them.

P1170360

Like these boxes that contained blank notecards.  Oftentimes I even frame the pretty cards; but this post is about the empty boxes.

P1170362
They both have ‘hidden magnetic clasps’, so they open and re-close very easily.

P1170361On this one I’ll need to cover the inside of the lid also, but the other one is ‘neutral enough’ that I could leave it ‘as is’ if I wanted to.

P1170372Here is how I cut one 12″ x 12″ sheet of scrapbook paper to cover the floral box.

P1170375First I glued the strips on the sides.  (used tacky glue)

P1170376Overlapping a bit on the front and back.

P1170377Then the big piece of paper I glued, starting at the front flap, covering the lid, the back spine and as far onto the bottom of the box and back up the lower front of the box.

P1170384I opted to leave the inside of this one ‘as is’ since it was so neutral.

P1170386A couple of little embellishments to the lid and it’s done.

P1170382On the shell box I used left over bits and pieces of scrap paper.  Old dictionary page on the bottom.

P1170381A combination of papers and a picture on the lid.  (I left the sides ‘as is’ on this box; since they were neutral)

P1170383Some sheet music paper inside the lid, and more dictionary page on the bottom.

P1170390And I ALWAYS add a little bit of paper shred inside my boxes.  For these I used some hand folded and hand cut vintage sheet music.  It’s just a little ‘extra touch’ that I like to do.

P1170388

Found a little ‘love’ sticker in my stash that suited this box.

P1170393

Done!  The smaller one in the center came from Dollar Tree, and I embellished it similarly to how I did the two card boxes.   It was all green except for the top, which had some kind of design on it that I can’t even recall right now!  I just covered the top and bottom of it, and added the embellishments.

Next time you get ready to toss an empty box into the recycle bin; pause for a moment to consider if it might be prettied up and re-used first.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/upcycled-card-boxes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. AJ, I love what you did to the boxes!! Gives a whole new perspective to them and a new use.


Leave a Reply

