I desperately need a new purse!!

My current purse is seriously held together with duck tape!

P1180735Great COLOR though, isn’t it?

P1180734Yep, there’s the duck tape.

P1180733And if I don’t find a new one SOON, I’m going to have to completely tape both handles!

P1180736I found this cute yellow one on Zulilly. Figured it would hold me over until I found ‘the one’.

P1180741It had plenty of pockets and compartments; which I MUST have.

P1180738A nice little zippered pocket on the back; and it was only $20.00!

P1180739But only ONE compartment in the main part of the bag.

P1180737But it’s totally ANOREXIC!!! Look how skinny it is?!?!?  I can’t fit all my crap in there?!?!?  (btw, they did NOT show a side view on the website; hence my hasty and completely USELESS purchase!) sigh

If any of you want to buy it for what I paid for it, I’ll cover the cost to ship it to you.  Zulilly doesn’t take returns.  (but the ARE great about refunding if things are damaged)

P1180743So, out of desperation, and only because it would be better than duck taping the handles of my blue purse, I bought this UGLY thing at Ross.  It said it was ‘genuine leather’ but it sure LOOKS like cheapo plastic.  I doubt that it will hold up for very long.  But it was only $19.00.

P1180746It’s perfectly functional.  Has the inner compartments I need.

P1180748And the proper amount of GIRTH.

P1180744But it really looks more like a mini back pack than a purse!

P1180751And the closure is really WEIRD.  It’s a tab with a snap, but it snaps on the INSIDE, and it’s really awkward to reach.

SO, I need some good recommendations for places to buy a decent, attractive, functional and reasonably priced purse!  (I’d like to keep the price under $50.00)

Everything I have looked at thus far is either HUGE enough to be an overnight bag, or just too small; or is covered with STUDS.  (Studs???  I must have missed that fashion memo, because the studs just look LAME to me!)    SO many of them are just one big compartment.  I’d spend half the day just digging to find things in a purse like that.  Please, HELP ME find a new purse that I can ‘live with’.

Any suggestions???

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/02/10/i-desperately-need-a-new-purse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There are places where you can buy handle replacements. There are chain or strap, you might not get the same colour (your trademark!) but you could change them out if you are happy with the actual handbag. I have a favourite handbag with the straps being held on by duct tape as well! So I’m buying two strap replacements from a local here in Australia. Nothing worse than having something like shoes or bags or anything else for that matter that we love to death, fall to bits! You can buy the straps on ebay as well.

  2. Sorry you are having purse problems! I know what you mean about needing a purse with pockets and compartments. Since I haven’t found the perfect purse yet either, I bought an organizer for use in those purses that are just one big open space, and it helps–I can always find my pen now b/c it is in the slim pocket designed for it. I do like the yellow cross-body. I like to use mine when I’m going shopping and don’t need all my “stuff”–just the essentials–and don’t want to carry my large bag. When you find your perfect pocketbook, please do a post on it–I’m still looking, too!

  3. I have found several really nice, basically new purses at the the thrift store. Sometimes women have so many that they hardly ever use them (and sometimes not at all). Of course there are a lot of really yucky ones or ones that went out with the 80’s, but I have found several that are perfect for me. I too like “BIG inside” bags, I have so much stuff!, but it would certainly be worth a look each time you go.

  4. There is an amazing store in the streets of Tanasbourne called Charming Charlie’s. It’s pure heaven. Accessories galore with chandeliers hanging from the ceiling and everything is grouped by color. So one table is everything mint, one table is all gold etc… Purses are about $20-$50. It truly is an amazing store even to just go look in!

  5. I buy mine at the Blue Goodwill store in downtown Olympia. Good prices name brands.

  6. Sometimes it so hard to find just the right purse! Especially if you carry a lot of stuff in your purse and you need a lot of pockets. I bet my purse weighs 20 lbs. I should weigh it sometime. I don’t like to pay more than $25.00 for a purse.

  7. I buy all mine at thrift stores. Yep, you heard right. Thrift stores. I get purses that would cost me well over $100 for $15 or less! Goodwill usually runs around $1.99 and other thrift stores are sometimes a little more. Especially for name brands and in excellent condition. You know what I’ve found? People like my mother in law love to buy purses. They sort of collect them and either never actually use them or use them a time or two (she changes hers for every outfit!) and puts it in the top of her closet. At the end of the ‘season’ she cleans it all out and donates them. Now hers don’t interest me, although they are cute. I mean I need to take more than a can of Altoids and a cellphone where ever I go. She likes little purses…I have found awesome purses, some with the tags still on them for a steal. I can’t bring myself to buy a new one. The last new one I bought was about 15 years ago and it was from Target. It was leather and I I loved it. It even had a light that came on inside when you opened it! Hehehe. Wore that one out for sure!

  8. You are so clever about re-doing things — I’m sure you could re-invent your handles. Something that would make us all slap our heads and say “why didn’t I think of that!”.

  9. Kohl’s

  10. I love Wilson’s Leather. The purse I bought is a blend, I think, and was $35 or $40, but it has held up for a year and a half and for me, that says a lot. She still has a lot of life left in her too. I also bought a nice one at DSW for $8. It was 80% off, plus I got extra off for signing up for their emails or something. That held up great too!


Leave a Reply

