Re-purposed hand-me-down desk

P1180346

 I’m dubbing it the ‘blue beast’!  One of the strays Michael dragged home YEARS ago after someone left it on the curb.  He gave it to some friends who had young school aged kids.  Nice homework desk.  I had totally forgotten about it.  Until Michael’s friend called and asked him if he wanted it back, as their kids had out grown it.

 It’s a lot more ‘beat up’ than you can see in the picture, especially the shelf side.  And it’s GLOSSY paint.  The HARDEST paint to paint over.  I really did NOT want it as a project.  Unleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees . . . .


P1180388

 He was willing to cut it down into just a three drawer night stand.  I can ALWAYS sell a night stand with drawers.   The more drawers, the better!  Doesn’t look half bad from the front, does it?

P1180389Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh . . . .but the SIDE where the center desk drawer was connected could be an issue!  It took a LOT of sanding to ‘even’ that side out, a bit of wood filler and then several extra layers of paint!  And while I am attempting to move AWAY from a LOT of aqua items for a while, given that this piece was already blue and I didn’t want to spend an entire WEEK working on it…….

P1180928I went with my ‘beachy blue’ color on this piece.  Tossed the old wood knobs into my ‘knob box’ and used these vintage porcelain pulls with back plates for a more vintage look.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/re-purposed-hand-me-down-desk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

