Basic (and BLAND!) night stand updated

No news on the house yet.  Waiting patiently.  (well, as patiently as possible!)  I drove by for a peek on my way home from Stars the other day.  What they are calling a ‘work shop’ is a small (probably 586′!) shed.   But the shed DOES have electricity!  It’ll work for storage.  Just as I was about to peek into the garage (which is what would actually be used for my workshop) a car pulled up so I figured I better get outta there!)  THANK YOU all for your prayers!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

A very ‘plain Jane’ little night stand.    Clean drawer.  NO stickers.  (bonus!  I HATE scraping stickers off of furniture!)   Needed minimal prep, just a little sanding before painting.

P1180920

(sorry about the ‘sun streak!  It’s been SIXTY degrees and SUNNY here in Oregon!?!?!  Crazy GREAT weather!)

P1180929

OOPS!  I missed that little part under the drawer!  I was thinking that the drawer covered it! (I did go back and paint that strip after I saw the picture!)   I painted the entire piece a ‘putty’ hued white paint and lightly distressed.

P1180930

An amber colored (repro!) crystal knob for the drawer.

P1190016

The drawer was perfectly clean and did nit NEED to be lined; but this piece of scrapbook paper just added a little ‘special touch’ since it’s such a simple piece.

P1180910

Speaking of KNOBS!  Check out these beauties I found at Ross recently.

P1180911They are BIG and heavy.  I wanted to use one of these on this night stand, but they were just TOO big for that little drawer.  I’ll save these for a bigger project later.

P1180931Distressing along the prominent edges.

P1190020But ‘notsomuch’ on the more protected from use interior section.

P1190021As I am often inclined to do with my made over pieces, I painted the back of it.   I do this PRIMARILY because oftentimes the backs of the furniture I put in my booth at the antique mall are visible in my display, and it just looks nicer.  Sometimes the backs are just UGLY and NEED to be painted over.  It’s also just a nice finishing touch and literally takes just a minute or two (with a roller!) and it just looks better!  (and also I am a wee bit anal sometimes; but you already know that!)

P1190022Some light distressing  on the sides.  Just enough so that it looks ‘lovingly used’, but ABUSED!

P1190018All in all, I am perfectly pleased with how this piece turned out.  I am really TRYING to ‘keep it simple’ more often than not on my furniture pieces so that they appeal to a broader buying audience.

This will be going to my booth in Stars soon.

The big antique show/sale at the Expo is going on this weekend, and that means Stars is having a SALE!  The sale at Stars runs Thursday, March 5th – Sunday, March 8th.

50% off all regular priced items in my booth during the sale.

After the sale ends on the 8th, I will be doing a MAJOR booth overhaul!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/03/04/basic-and-bland-night-stand-updated/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. What a tough moving decision for you, but being in not-so-great health myself, I certainly understand your situation. It’s so wonderful that your son and future DIL are in a position to invest in a place for you but more wonderful that they are willing to do so.


Leave a Reply

