From ‘ick!’ to ‘Oo000ooo!’ Updated old birdcage

This old birdcage scored pretty high on the ‘ick’ scale when I bought it.P1200243Not sure WHY???  but at some point, its previous owner had decided that it would be a good idea to paint the base of it orange.  Not sure why they didn’t paint ALL the base orange?  Maybe they realized it was a big mistake?  Or maybe they just ran out of orange spray paint??  Very mysterious!

P1200259THIS was the ‘ickiest’ part!  At first glance (and without my glasses on to really SEE what it was!) it kinda looked like all these ‘blobs of goop’ along the edges of the base were, um, ‘droppings’!  (which I didn’t notice until I got home!)  I took it out of my car, doused it AND my car with Lysol, then washed AND sanitized my hands.  And I let it sit out in the rain for a couple of days to see if any of it would wash off.

P1200260After a good scrubbing with a sanitizing cleaner, I could finally tell that this ‘icky stuff’ was not what I had thought it was at all.  Rather a very bad welding job to repair what must have been lots of loose bars.  But STILL . . . . even after it was painted it LOOKED icky!

P1200255The rest of it, and from a distance even that icky part, looked great once it was fully painted.  I removed the base (it pulls out easily for cleaning) so painting the inside area was a breeze.

P1200256But HOW can I hide the ICK???  It sat on my clothes dryer for a few days  . . . hoping that if I looked at it often enough I’d come up with something.

P1200300The ONLY thing I could come up with was to glue some lace around the edge.

P1200301I also added some of my custom blend of paper shred inside the cage to help distract the eye from the edge.  (the glue was still wet in the pic; once it dried it looked much better)

P1200302And it’s ready to go to Stars!

P1200307It’s a BIG one too, as you can see in front of this door.

P1200305SO big, in fact, that it didn’t look quite right just sitting empty.

P1200336I tucked a few of my white bird pedestals inside to add some interest.

P1200337I decided that this little white wire conservatory needed some birds too!

P1200338The conservatory was just the right size to tuck beneath the end table that the big aqua cage was set upon.

P1200361Here is how the whole vignette ended up!

The big aqua birdcage is $99.00 at Stars.  The pedestal birds are sold separately.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/from-ick-to-oo000ooo-updated-old-birdcage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. A you clever girl – that’s the best cover up for icky-ness i’ve seen in my life – well done!!


Leave a Reply

