Salvaged legs ~ New top.

Once again, I have forgotten the before picture,  sigh.

P1200303These pretty curved and carved legs were attached to the UGLIEST table top!! Formica topped particle board??!!?

P1200304The top it came with was a unique shape, one of those oval oblongs with points on the sides.  (I’m sure that shape has a name, but I’ve never been able to find it!)  Anyhoooooo . . . I initially thought about tracing the original shape onto this piece of wood to replicate it.  But when Michael laid this piece on top just to see if it was the right size, I decided the plain top looked better with the fancy legs.

P1200323

Painting those legs was quite the adventure!  I wanted to leave the carved parts their original dark brown, but painting around them proved nearly impossible.  So I tried my trusty small foam roller with very little paint on it.  Perfect!  Well, almost perfect.  Some of the paint still dripped into the carvings in a few places, and proved impossible to ‘wipe off’ completely.  I wiped the wet paint as best I could, then after my second coat of paint was dry, I ‘filled in’ those areas with brown paint and a small brush.

P1200322Then I hand sanded along the edges and outer curves of the legs.  The top, as you can see, I chose to pint solid white, and not distressed.  (because the wood that would show IF I did distress it was lighter in color than the legs.)   It’s probably going to be covered with stuff and barely seen anyhow??? Why spend a lot of time on a decorative paint job, right?

P1200751Available for purchase in my booth at Stars for $89.00.

P1200753

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/05/15/salvaged-legs-new-top/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

