Another night stand

There’s no such thing as having too many night stands in my booth at Stars.P1190810I snagged this little pink number at a recent estate sale.  Drawers are always a plus!

P1190857It’s difficult to tell from this picture, but I added a back to it.  But DON’T add your back first thing!!!  The insides of those shelves (and the backing!) are much easier to paint SEPARATELY.  So measure and cut your backing and paint it and your entire shelf BEFORE attaching the back.  I just run a thin strip of tacky glue along the edge of the back, then nail it down with finishing nails.

P1200099

I love this vintage tarnished gold knob with back-splash.  I tried out several other knobs before settling on this one.  I tried a white ceramic knob, a crystal one, a wood one (that I would have painted aqua to match) and none of them were looking right.  I had NOT tried any gold ones because I really didn’t think they would look right.  Just goes to show you that sometimes you have to think outside the box.  This knob really set the ‘vintage tone’ for this piece.

P1200100I glued a piece of scrap book paper to the inside of the drawer to cover up a few crayon marks.

P1200098Did you notice that I didn’t distress this piece?!?!?  I didn’t want the original pink to show through, so it was either: A) Don’t distress it.  or B) Sand away all the pink paint before painting it.  With it being mostly flat surfaces and straight lines, sanding off all the original paint really would n;t have taken more than an hour or two.  But I would have never been able to PRICE it to recoup that amount of time spent on it.

You really have to always be thinking about your ‘bottom line’ if you are trying to make any profit on the items you make over.  You have to ‘choose your battles’ so to speak.  Don’t spend a lot of extra time working on a piece that won’t sell at a higher price point.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/05/19/another-night-stand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You get an A+ on this makeover!


Leave a Reply

