Re-purposed curtain rod finials

P1200017

Quick and easy DIY wood fence-post toppers.P1190816

Start with an unfinished pair of curtain rod finials.  (I found mine at the thrift store, of course!)
P1190815Rummaged though my wood stash to find two square 4″x4″ routed edge wood plaques (form craft store) and two smaller square pieces of scrap wood.  Glued the two together, and drilled a pilot hole in the center top.

P1190817Put a dot of glue in the hole, and a little around the bottom rim of the balls and screwed them down.

P1200016

  I painted them both aqua and sanded a bit.  Decided to try a different ‘aging method’ on each one, as I’ve never actually compared the two side by side.

P1200018

The darker distressing is from using the Ralph Lauren tobacco stain; brush on and wipe off excess.

P1200017The lighter colored aging formula is one of my own concoctions that I call ‘weathered wood wash’, which was invented back when I mostly did primitive style stuff.  W

I invented it because when I would use old naturally grayed wood fence boards, I hated how the freshly cut edges looked NEW.  So I formulated a water based ‘wash’ to brush on and make the new wood match the old stuff.

***This is just about the ONLY  ‘recipe’ that I do not share.   I’ve always hoped to someday be able to ‘sell’ the formula and ‘make it rich’!! LOL!!

P1200016

Which color do you like best?

P1200105

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/08/07/re-purposed-curtain-rod-finials/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Can’t decide which I like better. They are both pretty!


Leave a Reply

