Time off to recover from surgery.

P1220895

Happy October!!P1220982

FINALLY had my carpal tunnel surgery!  That big ole bruise goes through to the top of my hand also!  Needless to say, I will be ‘out of commission’ for a while.

P1220883I did get a few more blue / grey pumpkins painted up for my front porch before surgery.  I had actually found one REAL greyish-aqua pumpkin at the grocery store; piled in with all the white pumpkins.  It didn’t have a stem, so I added one.

P1220892A medium branch had fallen from the tree in my front yard.  I chopped it up for the real pumpkin and used it on the fake ones that had ‘removable’ stems.
P1220894

Saved some of the scraps of the branch and just laid them around the pumpkins.

P1220889The smallest one was originally black, which showed through a bit when I sanded.

P1220881This one is my LEAST favorite.  It has that ‘plastic glitter stuff’ on it.  Teeny tiny clear plastic spheres . . . soaked up paint and the antique glaze, like a sponge.  Hence, the lines of glaze would not ‘blend out’ very well.

P1220887This one had a crackle finish originally.  I had hoped the cracks would show up better. The stem hole was too big for just one stick, so I did a double on this one.

P1220893

This is how the antiquing medium was supposed to work!

P1220885

This is a styro one; painted grey and antiqued.  Not really enough ‘texture’ for the antiquing medium to settle into.

P1220884One of the larger ones withOUT a removable stem, so I just painted it brown.

P1220886Small grey one with painted stem.

P1220895The benches are ones that Michael built for me a while back.  I had intended to use them for my coffee table, but until I make room for them inside, they are on my front porch.

P1220875Thrift store red berry wreath on my front door.

P1220878I used some of the skinnier parts of the branch that I cut up for the pumpkin stems to add to the berry wreath.  Just ‘tucked them in’ and wrapped them with the berry wires to hold them in place, so they are removable if I want to change it later.

WHEW!!!  That post wiped me out.  Gotta go ice my hand and rest a bit.  Will be a week or more before I can post again.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/10/01/time-off-to-recover-from-surgery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Clever idea for the stems…so much nicer. I think your least favorite has character. Hope you heal fast and well.
    dee

  2. Love your pumpkin stem idea. You’re very resourceful! Hope your hand heals quickly. I had both hands done several years ago. Right one got infected, so it took longer to heal. You’ll like results.

  3. Love your porch setting. You are so creative. Take care of that hand and get plenty of rest. Blessings.

  4. Love the pumpkins in those colors. Said a prayer for quick healing for you. It has to be hard for you to not be able to create as much as normal.

  5. Hi, Sophie, I hope you get well soon!!

  6. Praying for the speedy recovery.

  7. Hope your hand heals quickly and you are back to doing all your goodies soon. I am off for heart surgery next Friday so think of me! CHeers from Australia!

  8. Bless your heart! I had that same surgery at the end of February and the recovery was so much quicker than I anticipated! I hope yours is quick too! I love all of your treasures!


Leave a Reply

