Country heart shelf – AGAIN!!

I’ve lost track of how many of this EXACT type of shelf with the heart cut-outs I’ve made over through the years!

P1230198The hearts are TOTALLY dated and have to go!  But the shelf style, by itself, is really a very timeless style.  I just get rid of the hearts and add backing.  Adding the backing is optional, but I really prefer to always add backing.  Items just ‘show’ better against a backing.

P1230219I painted it my ‘new blue’ of course.  HELPFUL HINT: Paint the shelf and the backing separately before attaching the back.  It will be much easier and faster that way!

P1230221

Since it’s not really possible to ‘remove’ the heart cut-outs, the best option is to COVER them up.  I just cut a piece of ‘luan’ the same size as the top piece and glue it on.  Once the glue dries and add a few finishing nails at the corners.

P1230226The added piece over the hearts could easily be left plain; I decided to add these decorative elements.

P1230328

 They are made of resin (originally they were ornaments) I cut off the wire loop and glued them to the luan.   Once the glue was set, I just did a little ‘dry brush’ painting over them.

P1230227I hand sanded the edges a bit so some of the original white paint showed through.

P1230222

As soon as I have for ‘room’ in my booth; I will be taking it to Stars.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/country-heart-shelf-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Another great makeover! I’ve had a few projects that required dealing with cut-out hearts. I found that wood appliques large enough to cover the hole do a pretty good job of updating a piece, too. Your shelf has a new lease on life! Thanks for sharing!

  2. LOVERLY!!! 😉


Leave a Reply

