Windy winter weather wreaths!

Try saying that five times fast!  It’s been a VERY wet winter here in the Pacific Northwest.  As in RECORD rainfall.  Even my garage is too damp to do much furniture painting many days.

P1240599It’s been quite windy along with that record rainfall; and the landscape service hired by the property owner is ‘off’ for the winter.  SO, there are a LOT of these willow tree branches in several of the neighbors yards.  I grabbed a hand-full from a common area on my way back from the mail box one day . . . .

P1240598Because it was still so fresh and damp, I was able to very easily from it into a little wreath.  Didn’t even need any wire to hold it together.  I just ‘tucked and tied’ the ends.  I felt a new ‘addiction’ in the making!  But most of the rest of the fallen branches were in the yards of neighbors, so I didn’t feel quite just taking them.

So, I took the first little wreath that I had made and was headed over to knock on the door and ask if they minded if I picked up the branches in their yard.  The neighbor just happened to be taking her dog for a walk, so I introduced myself, and asked her if she minded me picking up the branches from her yard to make the wreaths; and I offered her the wreath that I had.  She accepted the wreath and said ‘Take as much as you want!”  And so I did!

P1240604I I used up about half the pile of branches and had made about a dozen 10-12″ wreaths.  It wasn’t really ‘work outside’ weather and my hands were getting numb, but I didn’t want the branches to dry out and then later when I wanted to make more wreaths they would just break instead of bend.  As I was searching for ‘something to store’ the extra branches in it hit me!

P1240600

If I put them in a ROUND container they would dry out in that shape and probably be even EASIER to make more wreaths later on!

As my storage basket got fuller, it was becoming difficult to keep the branches contained, so I put some ‘weight’ (in the form of a planter filled with packing material) on top and ‘voila!

P1240602Another wind storm a couple of weeks later left a fresh batch of twigs to be gathered.  (I still had not used up the previous batch!)  So I found another round container to store that batch in.

P1240603

Topped it with an old enamelware bowl to keep the branches in place.IIP1240605

I decided to try an oval one, but it ended up more of a ‘rear drop’ shape.  think I’ll stick with the round ones.  Now I just need a fairly warm and dry day to use up the rest of my branches.

I’m resisting the temptation to go out and gather up MORE branches because the rain and wind continues to fill the neighbors yard with them.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/01/23/windy-winter-weather-wreaths/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great idea! Very cost effective too!

  2. I am always amazed at your imagination and talent to find usefulness everywhere! We live in Oklahoma and there aren’t a lot of willow trees around here, but even if there were, I probably would never have thought of doing this! 🙂 Beautiful job!! Hope the weather calms down for you soon, but it’s nice to have a little “in house” time off.


Leave a Reply

