OUTDATED ~ UPDATED :: A ‘different’ kind of Country Heart Shelf!

I’ve lost count of how many country heart shelves I have made over since starting my blog!  I really thought I had ‘seen them all’.  Alas, a wood crafter, somewhere, some time ago, had a different vision of the country heart shelf.

P1240089

And therein lies a NEW country heart shelf make-over challenge for me!  None of the carved wood appliques I had on hand were big enough to completely cover the heart.  For a split second I considered cutting the heart off and sanding down the the curves along the top a bit to blend in.  But that would leave me with a EVEN number of designs on the top and that thought gave me the shivers!!  Especially since the cubbies are so ‘random’.

P1240090

So, I decoded to just ‘cover it up’ with an angular cut ‘cornice’ type thing; then look for an applique that would fit that space.

P1240424

This one does the trick!

P1240423

I had painted the added piece BEFORE gluing on (tacky glue) the applique because it saved on painting time.  Always easier to paint a flat surface.  I also painted the ENTIRE shelf before adding on the pre-painted backing.  Another HUGE time saver!  Any time you can avoid having to paint a lot of interior corners . . . DO so.

P1250070

All painted up with my ‘New Blue’ paint, and distressed just a tad along the edges.  The added piece and wood applique ARE also distressed, but since the wood is a lighter color than the shelf, it just doesn’t ‘show’ as much.

P1250069

Sometimes I paint the backing a different color than the shelf; or stencil a patter on it to make it look like wall paper.  I kept it plain on this shelf because it’s already a bit ‘busy’ with the various shapes and sizes of the cubbies.

For attaching the backing (AFTER it’s been painted; which takes about ONE minute using a paint roller!) I run a bit of tacky glue along the back lines of the shelf and press the backing into place.  Apply a little pressure for a few minutes to let the glue ‘set’ a little.  Then I use little finishing nails along the outer edges.

After the backing is attached, I paint the BACK of the backing.

P1250223

This is why I paint the backs of items.  It literally takes ONE minute; and looks so much nicer when the back is visible in your displays.  It actually CREATES new display options and makes the most of every inch of display space.

P1250100

All filled up!  When attaching price tags to larger or hard to reach items, I try to make the tag visible ‘at a glance’.  I, personally HATE having to HUNT for a price tag.  The easier you make it on your shoppers to SEE the price tag, the easier you make it for them to BUY the item.  AND this lessens the likelihood of them completely dismantling your display ‘just to see the price’.

P1250208

No such thing as too many cubby shelves!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/01/31/outdated-updated-a-different-kind-of-country-heart-shelf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

