Little wood trays

Found these little trays at the thrift store.

P1240501

The fronts of old greeting cards had been glued onto them.

P1240503

They were a tad beat up.

P1240500

And the pictures are really dated.

P1240502

They aren’t very big either; about 6″ x 8″.  But trays always sell well for me and they were a good price; so I figured they were worth buying to fix up.

P1250527

I sanded over the cards a little, then painted the whole tray and distressed along the edges.

Now what to decorate them with?!?!?  I thought some stenciled designs or words would be cute, but all my stencils were too BIG to fit these little trays.

P1250529

These pretty paper napkins look like a good fit.  I’ve never worked with applying napkins, so I was a tad leery, but decided to give it a shot.

P1250530

I had these other napkins to consider also, but settled on the first ones.  Wanna know where I found all these pretty paper napkins????

DOLLAR TREE! I kid you not. And they have dozens more designs . . .and table covers and paper plates and cocktail napkins to match!

P1250532

I cut the napkin to size and got my little 2oz bottle of Mod Podge out (which I also found at DT!!) and went to work.  I waited to remove the back layer of the napkin until after I had cut it to size.  Slathered the tray with the Mod podge and veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery carefully placed the napkin on and gently dabbed it into place.

P1250531

I was able to cover all three trays with ONE napkin, by using the back; and then putting two pieces together (which you can SEE on the tray on the left).

P1250533

The tissue went onto the first tray perfectly.  The next two . . . .notsomuch!  As you can see here.  sigh.  The napkin paper is SO thin it tears really easily, so as I was ‘working it into the corners’ it ripped!!

P1250534

The Mod Podge ‘sets’ so quickly that I couldn’t remove the napkin to start over.  (Well, maybe if I had immediately submerged it in water).  I just wanted to be DONE with them, so I left them to look ‘distressed’.

P1250537

Think this will pass for good enough?

P1250538

Another little tear in the corner.  I suppose I would have tried harder to fix the tears if the trays were bigger, but these are so small it really wasn’t worth investing more  time and effort into the project.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/02/24/little-wood-trays/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh! They are very cute! MUCH better than the originals! Is there any chance you could perhaps sand the areas of the tears just a little? Then it can look aged in the appropriate way without the tears just looking like, well, tears! I love the birds!

  2. The Dollar Tree does have amazingly cute napkins! Your trays look very fresh and adorable.
    Question: what do you charge for your trays? I have revamped a couple trays and they won’t move…priced at $12. Here is my post on them if you are interested: http://renewedprojects.blogspot.com/2016/02/yum-or-dumb-weigh-in.html
    I’d love your input! I’m newish to owning a booth. Thanks!

  3. i say go for it and put them in your booth. If they don’t sell that way, then a re-do will be necessary. I used napkins and mod poge to cover those brouw boxes from Hobby Lobby? Mine wrinkled but it looked good on them. The napkins are hard to work with, I agree! Don’t know if you have Tuesday Morning shops in your area but they have some beautiful napkins too at a reasonable price. I’ll have to run by Dollar Tree to see what they’ve got!

  4. Audra…Just my opinion, I would repaint in a darker blue or tourquoise and leave off the YUM. I believe the napkin and mod-poge would work on your trays even with the uneven surface since the napkins are so thin and pliable. AJ may have a different take on it. I look at EVERYTHING that has birds on it. Or make all 3 different on the inside but same color.

  5. AJ- What if you put some of your Ralph Lauren Tobacco glaze on these if they don’t sell as is? I almost always encourage you to do more. I’m a more is more person. LOL! 🙂

  6. I, TOO, am usually a ‘more is better’ person! I’m trying very hard to get into the ‘less is more’ way of thinking . . at least initially. Then, just as you suggested, add ‘more’ later IF necessary. I re-do at least a dozen projects a year!
    aj

  7. […] this paper napkin design from the little trays  I did  a while […]


Leave a Reply

