Updated vintage cedar boxes

P1240125Forgot to take a ‘before’ picture on this one, but it’s pretty easy to imagine what it originally looked like.

P1240126

The outside of the lid looked pretty much the same as the inside!  These old cedar boxes are pretty heavily varnished, so a good sanding was necessary before painting.

P1240734Sanded.  Painted.  Sanded again.  Carved wood applique painted and added.  Matte varnish.

P1240735

And of course, a ‘little something’ inside!

p1170303

I had this EXACT one when I was little.  Still have it ‘somewhere’ filled with little treasures from my childhood.

P1250266

Same steps as the first one.  Sanded.  Painted.  Sanded again to distress.

P1250267

Decided to line the bottom of this one with some pretty scrap book paper.

P1250268

The hinges and clasp were not removable, so I just painted over them, then sanded away some of the paint afterwards.

P1250269

After trying out several different embellishments, I settled upon this tiny metal plate that reads ‘live  love  laugh’.  Glued it on with e6000.

P1250271

If my hands were less arthritic, I would have done more ‘detail sanding’ around the carvings on the lid to enhance them a bit more.  OR you could add an antiquing medium to bring them out more.  I’m TRYING to stick with the ‘less is more’ mantra in my make-overs right now.  Choosing to slow down before life and old age FORCE me to do so.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/02/28/updated-vintage-cedar-boxes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your blog and find it very inspiring! I craft as well but not nearly on the same level as you. I have nominated you for a LIebster Award. For more information, see this post: https://handmadebybbl.wordpress.com/

  2. When I was a child & use to visit my grandmother, she had two wooden boxes like these, where she kept greetings cards that people had sent her. I spent hours and hours sitting on the floor at her house, looking through these beautiful cards of hers. When she passed away, my aunt gave me one of those boxes with all the cards still in it. It is one of my most treasures possessions. Since then I have purchased 5 or 6 more at antique stores, because I too, think they are beautiful. 🙂


Leave a Reply

