Adding some GLITTERED crowns to my repertoire

I love glitter.  I loathe working with glitter.  I detest the ‘aftermath’ of working with glitter; IE the fact that it gets EVERYWHERE!   That being said, I NEEDED to make some glittered crowns to add to my offerings.

P1250985

I re-use the cardboard from old cereal boxes for my crowns.  On the sheet music crowns, I cover the printed side of the cardboard with the sheet music, which leaves the inside of the crown, plain.

P1250987

For the glittered crowns, since I have to glitter the plain side of the cardboard, I have to cover the printed side with ‘something’.  I used some old dictionary pages.  (not convinced that I will continue doing this.  I haven’t decided if it distracts from the look too much, or not).

P1250988

***   CUT YOUR CARDBOARD TO LENGTH.

***  COVER THE PRINTED SIDE WITH PAPER.

***  GLUE INTO A CIRCLE OF YOUR SELECTED SIZE WITH PAPER INSIDE; PLAIN PART OUTSIDE (for GLITTER crowns)

***  CUT YOUR CROWN POINTS.

*** BRUSH GLUE ONTO HALF OF THE OUTSIDE OF THE CROWN AND SPRINKLE ON YOUR GLITTER.  LET DRY.  GLITTER THE OTHER HALF.

P1250991

The glittered crowns are pretty enough left ‘as is’, without any embellishment; bit I like to add a little something.

P1250751

I used crepe paper rosettes on this first batch.

P1250886

Glittering the edges is pretty.  Gently brush glue along the very edges of your rosette.  Pour your glitter into a shallow container and gently ‘roll’ those glued edges in the glitter.  Let dry.

P1250891

Another way to embellish the rosette with glitter is to gently brush the glitter on the top of the folds and sprinkle with glitter.

P1250756

I have two sizes of these scalloped edge circle paper punches; and like to stack them to embellish my rosettes.  Adding glitter to the smaller ones was a hassle because I had to do it in two steps in order to cover the whole thing AND be able to hold it to apply the glue and glitter.  My solution?  Glue a little scrap piece of paper to the back to make a ‘tab’ to hold onto.  VOILA!  I can glue and glitter the entire front all at once.  Once dry, just snip the tab off.

P1250890

The two different styles of glittered rosettes side by side, with scalloped centers.

P1250994After I added the rosettes to the crowns I decided they needed a little something more, and added a little bling to the center.

P1250989

If the crown fits . . . . wear it!

Published in: on March 23, 2016 at 10:13 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/adding-some-glittered-crowns-to-my-repertoire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. love these! You’ve inspired me to make some for my grand daughters.. Thank you for sharing and happy Easter!

    Tamara ❤


Leave a Reply

